Skip to main content

Public Health: Home

Quick Links

Below are links to the major databases for public health - and some help with using them.
 

Cochrane Library

Embase
Embase Help

Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database

PubMed
PubMed/Medline Help

Scopus
Scopus Help

Web of Science

The Conversation Health News

Loading

Radio National Health Report

Loading

Introduction

This guide is to assist you with the use of the Library's resources for public health, and to provide a selection of links to web sites which may be useful to those practising or studying in the field. Additional resources are available from the University's Discipline of Public Health .

The Library's A to Z provides useful information including details of opening hours, borrowing rules, and facilities and costs for photocopying printing, and scanning.

Library Maps

Level 1 - Rare Books and Special Collections, and call numbers up to 599
Level 2 - Research Librarians, Digital Resources Management Centre (DRMC), and call numbers from 600 up
Level 3 - Research Help Desk, Services Support Desk, and High Use (Reserve) Collection

Health News

BBC NEWS | Health

Behind the Headlines  - NHS Choices
Behind the Headlines provides an unbiased and evidence-based analysis of health stories that make the news.

Health News by Date: MedlinePlus
Health news from HealthDay and Reuters Health Information, plus recent press announcements from major medical organizations.

NICE News
News from the National Institute for Health and Care Excellence in the U.K.

PubMed Health
PubMed Health provides information for consumers and clinicians on prevention and treatment of diseases and conditions. It specializes in reviews of clinical effectiveness research, with easy-to-read summaries for consumers as well as full technical reports.

Radio National - Health Report
The Health Report is a valued information source for professionals and students in the medical and health professions, as well as attracting a sizeable audience of general listeners seeking jargon-free, easy-to-understand information and analysis on health and medical matters - see RSS feed on left.

To Your Health: NLM update
From the National Library of Medicine in the United States. NLM presents a weekly audio update that highlights consumer health news and accompanying information from MedlinePlus.

WHO Media Centre
The World health Organization's press releases and fact sheets.

Full text of a number of Australian and overseas newspapers is available on the web to the University's staff and students. Click here for details of the databases involved.

Research Librarian

Jaime Royals
Contact:
Level 2, Barr Smith Library, The University of Adelaide, S.A. 5005 AUSTRALIA
8313 1062

ABC Health News

Loading