Skip to main content

Adelaide Research & Scholarship: About Open Access

The University of Adelaide's institutional digital repository

Open Access

What is Open Access?

The open access movement is about using the Web to open the research literature of the world to any user wishing to access it, for free. All that is needed is access to the Internet, and enough bandwidth to download the document.

The benefits of this approach are that:

  1. Publicly funded research is made publicly available
  2. Researchers will be able to access and use all the literature, rather than just what appears in the journals that their institution can afford. Open Access means that usage and citations will be based on what research is best and most pertinent, not just what is affordable.
  3. Researchers will gain an increase in citations to high quality work, wherever it is published (a piece of research hidden in either an obscure or an expensive journal is not likely to be cited today). Research shows a 50% to 250% increase in citations when documents are made freely accessible online.

Compliance with NHMRC and ARC policy on Open Access

Both the NHMRC and the ARC now have in place policies that require publications arising from supported research projects to be deposited into an open access institutional repository within a twelve month period from the date of publication. This is a strengthening of the previous policies which encouraged, but did not require, deposit in open access repositories.

You can access the full details of the NHMRC policy on dissemination of research findings or the ARC Open Access policy.

To assist University of Adelaide researchers to comply with these policies the Library’s Digital Services unit maintains an Institutional Repository branded as Adelaide Research & Scholarship.

Flowcharts for both ARC and NHMRC policies are available below to step you through the decision making process about what you need to do to comply with the policy.

Additionally the Journal Manuscript Versioning flyer may help in determining which version of a paper is appropriate to deposit.  In the majority of cases it is the Accepted manuscript.

Open Access Publishing

Australasia Open Access Strategy Group
The Australasian Open Access Strategy Group defines open access as:-

"For scholarly work Open Access means making peer reviewed scholarly manuscripts freely available via the Internet, permitting any user to read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, or link to the full text of these articles, crawl them for indexing, pass them as data to software, or use them for any lawful purpose, without financial, legal or technical barriers other than those inseparable from gaining access to the internet itself"

and if you're wondering why...just go to Why Open Research?

Creative Commons - Know Your Rights
Much open access material is governed by Creative Commons licensing. Different logos are displayed to indicate categories of use permitted.

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
As the name suggests this is directory that indexes and provides access to open access, peer-reviewed journals.

OpenDOAR
Universities world-wide now create institutional repositories to record the research conducted by academics. OpenDOAR is a directory of open access academic repositories. As well as providing a simple repository list, OpenDOAR lets you search for repositories or search repository contents.

ROARMAP
ROAR is an acronym for Registry of Open Access Repository Mandates and Policies. ROARMAP is an international registry of open access mandates and policies of universities, research institutions and research funders that require or request their researchers to provide open access to their peer-reviewed research articles by placing them in the institution's open access repository.

SHERPA/RoMEO Journals List
SHERPA/RoMEO provides an extensive list of journals colour coded to indicate publisher copyright policies and self archiving - includes pre-print, post-print or publishers' version of articles. There is also a Publishers List