Skip to main content

Civil, Environmental & Mining Engineering: Database details

Reminders of sources of information beyond Google, with links to Course focused Guides

a selection of Databases available through the Library

  Remember - these Databases are international in coverage; the Barr Smith Library does not pay for access to all of the articles and papers listed in the Databases.  If the link provided in the Database does not go to the full text, check  Library Search  under the title of the journal   If the text is not available, put in an Inter Library Loan request.  

for all aspects of Engineering, try

For all topics in Engineering start with Compendex in Engineering Village.     

Acoustics, Noise and Vibration

Aeronautics and Astronautics

Agriculture

Buildings

 

for an Australian perspective see -

Civil Engineering

Control

Defence

Science.gov
 searches over 60 databases and over 2200 selected websites from 15 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results.

Electrical Engineering

Electronics

Energy

in addition, US government research on aspects of energy is listed also in  -
Energy and Energy Conservation through Science.gov   
 

Manufacturing

Medical Equipment

Mining

     NISEE e-library 
      Access now requires  "subscription to the  The Earthquake Engineering Online Archive on an individual basis for a one-year period.
        Memberships are being  renewed freely each year.
"

     SARIG
the South Australian Resources Information Geoserver 

Oil and Gas

Robotics

Sports Engineering

Structures

 NISEE e-library 
   Access now requires  "subscription to the  The Earthquake Engineering Online Archive on an individual basis for a one-year period.
   Memberships are being  renewed freely each year.
"

 

Transport

Informit Engineering Collection  
From RMIT, some 20 Databases from Australian sources.

Waste

Water

 

 for an Australian perspective see -    

Engineering Education

Engineering Heritage

useful databases - other disciplines

The specialised Databases provide an in-depth coverage of a topic, while General Databases can be useful sources of social comment on technical issues and provide opinion on the impact of aspects of engineering on society.

Alternatively, look at the Databases provided through the Resource Guides  for other Schools and Faculties -

Arts   such as Philosphy; Geography, Environment & PopulationMap Collection
Health Sciences
  such as  Medicine; PsychiatryPsychologyPublic Health 

Professions  such as  ArchitectureBusinessEconomicsEntrepreneurship; LawProject Management   
Sciences
  such as  AgricultureBiological SciencesChemistryEarth SciencesEcology & Environmental Science; Map Collection PhysicsScienceSoil Science 
            

In addition addition there are cross-disciplinary Guides for    Adelaide Research & Scholarship - EndNote guide  -  English as a Second Language (ESL)  -  Guide to Research support including EndNote   -   Referencing Styles and  Academic Writing  -  Research Data Management  - Theses  -  Managing references & data - Publishing strategically  -  Research impact   -  Researcher Training  

The Guide to Teaching Support includes Digital Resources Management Centre  -  High-Use Collection 

 

General cross-disciplinary Guides  include  Newspapers and news services  -  Patents  -  Standards  -  Statistics  -  Theses   

Environmental Issues

 

for an Australian perspective see -

Chemistry

Physics

CERN Document Server 
provides preprints, articles, books, journals, photographs, videos in particle physics and related areas.

E-PRINT Network  
a gateway to over 35,300 websites and databases worldwide, containing over 5.5 million e-prints in basic and applied sciences, primarily in physics, but also including aspects of materials science, nuclear sciences and engineering, energy research

HEP: High Energy Physics information system

Sciences

Mathematics

ArXiv.org  
Cornell University Library e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics

EMIS: Electronic Library of Mathematics 
Free online journals in mathematics

ERAM: Electronic Research Archive for Mathematics  1868-1942

mp_arc  1991-
electronic archive for research papers in Mathematical Physics and related areas

Computer Science

Business aspects

 

for an Australian perspective see -

Management

Legal aspects

Ethics & Philosophy

News Comment

 

for an Australian perspective try -    

Social impact of technology

Australian Perspectives

Publishers Databases with full-text

Who is using the papers that interest you?

Theses