Skip to main content

> Chemical Engineering: Database details

Library Resources for finding information

Databases

Need articles or comment on a topic, or want papers by a specific author? 

For any topic, start with  Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology  and  Ullmann's Enyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry where there are substantial lists of specialised references following each section. 

Then, when you need more references try the major databases, Compendex in Engineering Village and SciFinder, or a specialised database such as CHERUB.

Follow up with a search of one or more of the databases which include topics within aspects of Chemical Engineering. 
Depending on your topic you may want to search a specialised database from a related subject area; some of the more general databases for comment from a community perspective; Business Source Complete for a commercial perspective, or Web of Science to find other articles using the references that are important in your work.

CHERUB CHemical Engineering Reference User Bibliography
A small, specialised database which lists articles from the major English-language journals in chemical engineering.
 

Compendex in Engineering Village
The international list of articles or papers about all aspects of engineering, from any country, in any language.
Includes articles from journals and professional magazines; papers given at conferences; research reports; chapters from books; a selection of theses.

SciFinder
The international list of articles in all aspects of Chemistry, including Chemical Engineering.
Remember that you need to register online before accessing this database; a valid University of Adelaide e-mail address is required for registration.

OnePetro
From SPE (Society of Petroleum Engineers), listing journal articles, conference papers and technical publications from the oil and gas industry. 

Other specialised databases may have useful material, so consider trying

Business Source Complete
comment from professional and technical magazines which can provide interesting commercial opinion.

NLE: National Library of Energy
research on energy science and technology

Water Resources Abstracts
includes water treatment as well as water resources

Biosis Previews
all aspects of the life sciences

AGRICOLA
From the US National Agricultural Library, an nternational database for agriculture.
Includes - Animals & Livestock; Agricultural History; Education; Food & Human nutrition; Laws & Regulations; Marketing & Trade; Natural Resources & Environment; Plants & Crops; Research & Technology; Rural Development.

ACM Digital Library
all aspects of computing

MathSciNet:  Mathematical reviews on the Web
maths, pure and applied; statistics

Below are some very large databases with a coverage of journal, magazine and newspaper comment across the Sciences, Humanities and Social Sciences. Can be useful sources of social comment on technical issues.

Academic OneFile

Academic Search Complete

SCOPUS  
chemistry, physics, mathematics, some engineering, arts and humanities, life and health sciences, social science, psychology and economics, biological, agricultural and environmental sciences, and general sciences
, primarily from Elsevier's journals from 1966.

for an Australian perspective try
Australia/New Zealand Reference Centre

eLibrary Australasia


 for access to the text of international newspapers try
Factiva

 So, once you have done your topic searching you will have a list of references that are valuable for your report. The Web of Science database allows you to find out who else is citing the same references in their papers, which might then be of interest to you.

Web of Science
Web of Science is based on a listing of the references from articles in current issues of the journals covered.
Click on 'Cited Reference Search' to find other authors using the same references (citations) as are important to your work.
The list of engineering journals covered is limited.