Skip to main content

> All aspects of Engineering: Database details

a selection of Databases available through the Library

Remember - these Databases are international in coverage; the Barr Smith Library does not pay for access to all of the articles and papers listed in the Databases.  If the link provided in the Database does not go to the full text, check      Library Search   under the title of the journal   If the text is not available, put in an   Inter Library Request   (top right of theL  LIBRARY SEARCH   page)

for all aspects of Engineering, try

Acoustics, Noise and Vibration

Aeronautics and Astronautics

CERN Document Server: CMS  lists the publications from Research at CERN   
OpenDOAR open access Repository for articles, books, conferences, theses, unpublished materials and multimedia from C

   

Buildings

 

for an Australian perspective see -

Chemical Engineering

for up-to-date, specialised information start with the two encyclocherubedias -

Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology.  5th ed.  2004-     editorial board is predominantly from North America
Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry.  6th ed. 2003-   editorial board is based in Europe

in addition the Databases -
CHERUB: CHemical Engineering Reference User Bibliography   specialised database of articles from English-language chemical engineering journals

 

Defence

Science.gov
 searches over 60 databases and over 2000 selected websites from 15 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results.

Electrical Engineering

Mining

     NISEE e-library 
      Access now requires  "subscription to the  The Earthquake Engineering Online Archive on an individual basis for a one-year period.
        Memberships are being  renewed freely each year.
"

     SARIG
the South Australian Resources Information Geoserver 

Sports Engineering

Structures

 NISEE e-library 
   Access now requires  "subscription to the  The Earthquake Engineering Online Archive on an individual basis for a one-year period.
   Memberships are being  renewed freely each year.
"

 

Transport

TRID international database for transportation research combining records from the U.S. Transportation Research Bureau Database, TRIS, and the ITRD from the OECD


 

useful databases - other disciplines

The specialised Databases can provide an in-depth coverage of a topic, while General Databases can be useful sources of social comment on technical issues and provide opinion on the impact of aspects of engineering on society.

Alternatively, look at the Databases provided through the Resource Guides  for other Schools and Faculties -

Arts  such as Philosphy; Geography, Environment & PopulationMap Collection

Health Sciences  such as  Medicine; PsychiatryPsychologyPublic Health 

Professions   such as  ArchitectureBusinessEconomicsEntrepreneurship; LawProject Management   

Sciences  such as  AgricultureBiological SciencesChemistryEarth SciencesEcology & Environmental Sciences; Map Collection PhysicsScienceSoil Science 
or the  

General Resource Guides  such as  Academic Writing and Referencing Style GuidesAdelaide Research & ScholarshipDigital Resources Management Centre  -  English as a Second Language (ESL) - Map Collection - Newspapers - Patents - Standards - Statistics - Theses   

Engineering Education

Physics

CERN Document Server 
provides preprints, articles, books, journals, photographs, videos in particle physics and related areas.

E-PRINT Network  
a gateway to over 35,300 websites and databases worldwide, containing over 5.5 million e-prints in basic and applied sciences, primarily in physics, but also including aspects of materials science, nuclear sciences and engineering, energy research

HEP: High Energy Physics information system

Mathematics

ArXiv.org  
Cornell University Library e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics

EMIS: Electronic Library of Mathematics 
Free online journals in mathematics

ERAM: Electronic Research Archive for Mathematics  1868-1942

mp_arc  1991-
electronic archive for research papers in Mathematical Physics and related areas

News Comment

for an Australian perspective try -     
    

Publishers Databases with full-text

Who is using the papers that interest you?

Theses