Skip to main content

Creative Writing: Databases

Resources for the Creative Writing courses in the English discipline

Literature databases

MLA

The major database for literary research, the MLA (Modern Language Association) International Bibliography is a subject index to journal articles and books on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. It covers from 1925 onwards and contains over 1.7 million citations from more than 4,400 journals. The majority of records are from English-language publications, but at least sixty other languages are represented including French, Spanish, German, Russian, Portuguese, Norwegian, and Swedish. There is a subset of JSTOR full-text articles on this database: to find these, add the term JSTOR to your keyword search (e.g. poetry and modernist and JSTOR)
 

 AustLit

The best index to use for articles on Australian literature. Users can access rich biographical information, enhanced bibliographic description using sophisticated search strategies, together with a Library Holdinggs facility. AustLit also provides access to a growing number of full-text documents and electronic resources, including: scholarly electronic Australian Literature texts produced by the University of Sydney Electronic Text and Image Service (SETIS); electronic journals and their contents; and a range of quality websites relating to Australian writers and their works

 

Book Review Index

A comprehensive online guide to book reviews with over five million review citations from thousands of publications.

 

Film & Television Literature Index (FTLI)

FTLI is definitely the best place to look for journal articles on film and TV. It is a comprehensive bibliographic database covering the entire spectrum of television and film writing from 1976 to date. It indexes 150 film and television journals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other journals selectively for articles on film and television. Subject coverage includes film reviews, film theory, television theory, preservation, restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and more.

Other useful databases