Skip to main content

Food Studies: Databases for journal articles

Print and online resources for students of HIST 2055 Food and Drink in World History.

Databases for journal articles

Food studies is a very interdisciplinary field of research.
Useful articles may be found in all sorts of journals across food, history, medicine, sociology, cultural studies, business etc

For this reason it may be worth starting with Library Search on the library's home page which searches across a wide range of the library's print and electronic content and provides links to full text if possible. Limit to journal articles.

Food writing can be popular or scholarly.
For better quality articles click on  Show only  Peer-reviewed Journals

The specialised databases below will provide you with references on a particular topic. 
Many have links to full text to which the library subscribes.
For the others you will have to search for the journal title in Library Search or in a library near you.
If you need to look beyond your local library, scroll down to the section on Finding journal locations.

Interdisciplinary

     Current awareness service for new articles as they are published.

Databases for newspaper articles

  • New York Times on the web (digital full text)

          1857-1922                        1923-current

See also the Library's guide to Newspapers and other news services.

E - journals

The library provides access to many electronic journals.
Of 733  journal titles relating to food or Cooking, 489 have full text online frome a certain date.
Some are free, some are on publishers' websites and some are full-text in aggregated databases.
You will not get free access to our subscriptions unless you access them via Library search, eJournals A-Z or our database links.

Some examples are:

Food culture and society 2004-

International journal of contemporary hospitality management 1994-

British Food Journal  1899-

Gastronomica v 2.1- 2002-

and free:
Alimentum: A journal of literature and food from New York since 2005.

Still lost?

If the  title is not held, sign in to library search and make an ILL REQUEST.
We will borrow the items from another library for you.
The service is mostly free.

Regional databases

Databases for related areas

Bibliography