A world-renowned research, collections and publishing organisation. We promote knowledge and understanding of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander cultures, traditions, languages and stories, past and present.
Is committed to serving indigenous language communities in Australia and the Timor region by means of linguistic research and documentation, translation, training, and the development of language resources.
There are more than 200 Australian Indigenous languages. Less than 20 languages are strong, and even these are endangered. This site has annotated links to 231 resources for about 80 languages. About 35% of these resources are produced or published by Indigenous people.
The organisation works to ensure that the wishes of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander community members are voiced in key decision-making processes that impact on the current and future management of their languages.
This is the full catalogue of Aboriginal language groups, described by Tindale as 'tribes', as published by him in his 1974 book Aboriginal Tribes of Australia. Their Terrain, Environmental Controls, Distribution, Limits, and Proper Names. This book serves as a catalogue to the tribal map.
LLBA covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics. Contains abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, and dissertations.
The core of AUSTLANG is the AUSTLANG database (online Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander languages database) which is linked to Google Maps. It also has access to other databases, PDF files and websites, to provide information about Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander languages.
A selection of resources available in the UofA Library. Find more books by using the Subject links on this page.