Skip to main content

Psychology: Journals

On This Page

Finding which databases index a particular journal
- there's no point looking in PsycINFO if it's not indexed there

How to find journals in our collection - a quick way to find a specific journal

Finding a specific journal article in our online collection - all you need is the article  title

Obtaining an electronic copy of an article from a print journal - without making a trip to the Library!

Interlibrary requests - when we don't have the journal you need.

 

Peer reviewed articles - checking whether a journal is peer reviewed (refereed)

Publishing with impact - a guide to help you choose where to publish

Style guides and instructions to authors - links to Harvard, Vancouver and individual journal style guides.

DOIs - Digital Object Identifiers and their use

Predatory publishers - don't be taken in by their spin!

Open Access Publishing - facilitating free access and extensive use of scholarly material

How To Find Journals in Our Library

The Library Search boxes below  will let you find both print and electronic journals held by the Library. The first one is set to find the exact title. If you're not sure of the exact title, try the second box, using selected words from the title.


Library Search - Journal Title

Find
Limit to:
Advanced Search


Library Search - Words from the Journal Title

Find
Limit to:
Advanced Search

 
You need to access online journals through our site, as if you go direct to the publisher's site your library membership will not be recognised, and you will be asked to pay for access to full text.

Finding a Specific Journal Article

Library Search - Journal Article Title

Find
Limit to:
Advanced Search

 

Other options:-

Try typing the title of the article (in inverted commas) into Scopus. If the journal is indexed in Scopus you will then be able to check for full text online.
You will also be able to:-

  • see articles which cited this reference
  • see the references used by the author(s) of the article

PubMed has a Single Citation Matcher, which allow you to find individual articles from journals included in Medline.

Requesting a Scanned Article from a Print Journal

Not all of our journals are available in electronic format and if you're in the Library you can scan articles from print journals to your USB (at no charge)

But if you're at home, or it's just not easy for you to get to the Library, we have a scanning service which can provide you with electronic copies - and it's free

Details of how to make a request are below..

Interlibrary Requests

When We Don't Have the Journal You Need


Check
 the catalogues of  Flinders University and the University of South Australia. If either of these libraries holds the journal, you can visit the library and make a copy of the article you need.

OR

Request a copy of the article on interlibrary loan, through our Document Delivery service.
Up to 50 requests are supplied free of charge for each person for each calendar year.
Details of charges for subsequent requests can be found on our Document Delivery page
 

The document below will show you how you do it.

(For book requests, just go to the the Inter Library Request link in Library Search ).

Style Guides and Instructions to Authors

The library has a range of printed style guides including
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 6th ed.

Obviously APA (American Psychological Association) is the style you will usually choose. Below is a video from Massey University, which will help you to understand how it works, and some other sites which provide you with examples.
 


APA referencing guide
University of Adelaide Writing Centre.

APA Style Resources
Here are some links from the American Psychological Association to their APA style guides and help sheets on the internet.
The APA also has a blog which includes details of How to Cite a Psychological Test in APA Style

The Basics of APA Style
This tutorial, from APA, shows users how to structure and format their work, recommends ways to reduce bias in language, identifies how to avoid charges of plagiarism, shows how to cite references in text, and provides selected reference examples.

How to Cite DSM-5 in APA Style
A blog from the American Psychological Association.

The Purdue OWL: APA Style
The Online Writing Laboratory (OWL) at Purdue has a clear explanation of the use of APA style.

Your Guide to APA 6th Style Referencing
A very clear set of examples - both in text, and in a reference list - from the University of Sydney.


Other Referencing Styles


The Harvard or author-date system of referencing is one of the commonly used systems, but there are several versions which differ slightly from one another.

Harvard Referencing Style
University of Adelaide instructions and examples.

International Committee of Medical Journal Editors (ICMJE) Recommendations for the Conduct, Reporting, Editing and Publication of Scholarly Work in Medical Journals
Previously Uniform requirements for manuscripts submitted to biomedical journals also referred to as the Vancouver Guidelines. For additional information see Citing Medicine 2nd ed.

Vancouver Referencing Guide
University of Adelaide instructions and examples.

Vancouver Style examples
From Monash University.

The Library also has a general referencing style guides page, if you need information on a style not covered here.

More Journal Information


Finding Which Databases Index a Particular Journal

  • Lists of journals and conferences covered by Embase are available at this site


If there is a particular journal you want to check to see which databases index its contents, use Ulrichsweb

Ulrich's records provide data points such as ISSN, publisher, language, subject, abstracting & indexing coverage, full-text database coverage, tables of contents, and reviews written by librarians
 

  • Search for the journal in question
  • When you find it, click on the title to display details
  • Then click on Abstracting & Indexing

     


Checking Whether a Journal is Peer Reviewed


Many databases, including Scopus and PsycINFO will allow you to limit your search results to include only peer reviewed journals. Check the Limit options when you have completed your search.

To check an individual journal use Ulrichsweb
If you see this icon it means that the journal is refereed (another term for peer review).

The Serials Directory also allows you to see if a journal is peer reviewed.

What is a DOI?

DOI is an acronym for  Digital Object Identifier. It is an alphanumeric code which is used to identify a variety of resources. The resource can be any entity — physical, digital or abstract — that you wish to identify, primarily for sharing with an interested user community or managing as intellectual property.

  • If the object is available online, the DOI gives a permanent internet address for it. If the URLs or services change over time, e.g., the resource moves, this same DOI will continue to resolve to the correct resources or services at their new locations.
  • This means that a DOI is much more reliable for locating an online item than a URL, which may change.

Digital Object Identifier System
This site allows you to search for a resource by DOI. For more in formation about DOIs see their FAQs page

CrossRef
CrossRef is an association of scholarly publishers that develops shared infrastructure to support more effective scholarly communications.
You can paste references into its search box and discover their DOIs.
CrossRef's database can also be searched for authors, titles, ORCIDs, ISSNs, FundRefs, license URIs, etc.

 

Predatory Journals and Publishers

Predatory Publishing - what is it?


In 2012, in an interview with The Chronicle of Higher Education, Prof. Jeffrey Beall described the phenomenon this way:

"Predatory open-access publishers are those that unprofessionally exploit the gold open-access model for their own profit. That is to say, they operate as scholarly vanity presses and publish articles in exchange for the author fee. They are characterized by various level of deception and lack of transparency in their operations.  For example, some publishers may misrepresent their location, stating New York instead of Nigeria, or they may claim a stringent peer-review where none really exists."

Predatory publishers may also claim to be indexed by reputable databases, when they are not, and list on their editorial boards the names of academics who have not agreed to be involved.

Over the last few years the number of predatory journals has increased exponentially, as the pressure to publish exerted by academic institutions grows.


Some Help With Identifying Predatory Practices


Questionable Publishing Practices
From Monash University's library, some examples and  a list of points to watch for.

‘Predatory’ open access: a longitudinal study of article volumes and market characteristics
Cenyu Shen and Bo-Christer Björk
BMC Medicine 2015 13:230  (DOI: 10.1186/s12916-015-0469-2)

Predatory journals recruit fake editor
Piotr Sorokowski, Emanuel Kulczycki, Agnieszka Sorokowska & Katarzyna Pisanski
Nature 23 March 2017 543:483

Jocalyn Clark: How to avoid predatory journals—a five point plan
19 Jan, 2015 |  BMJ Blog


It's Better To Be Safe Than Sorry


The Library has access to a range of resources which will allow you to check a journal's credentials, and ensure that you make a wise choice in when you choose a journal in which to publish.

You'll find some listed on this page

But we have a much more extensive range on our Publishing With Impact - Tools guide

 

Open Access Publishing

Australasia Open Access Strategy Group
The Australasian Open Access Strategy Group defines open access as:-

"For scholarly work Open Access means making peer reviewed scholarly manuscripts freely available via the Internet, permitting any user to read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, or link to the full text of these articles, crawl them for indexing, pass them as data to software, or use them for any lawful purpose, without financial, legal or technical barriers other than those inseparable from gaining access to the internet itself"

and if you're wondering why...just go to Why Open Research?

Creative Commons - Know Your Rights
Much open access material is governed by Creative Commons licensing. Different logos are displayed to indicate categories of use permitted.

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
As the name suggests this is directory that indexes and provides access to open access, peer-reviewed journals.

OpenDOAR
Universities world-wide now create institutional repositories to record the research conducted by academics. OpenDOAR is a directory of open access academic repositories. As well as providing a simple repository list, OpenDOAR lets you search for repositories or search repository contents.

ROARMAP
ROAR is an acronym for Registry of Open Access Repository Mandates and Policies. ROARMAP is an international registry of open access mandates and policies of universities, research institutions and research funders that require or request their researchers to provide open access to their peer-reviewed research articles by placing them in the institution's open access repository.

SHERPA/RoMEO Journals List
SHERPA/RoMEO provides an extensive list of journals colour coded to indicate publisher copyright policies and self archiving - includes pre-print, post-print or publishers' version of articles. There is also a Publishers List