Skip to main content

Where to Publish: choosing a journal: Find journals by subject

Using Scopus to Find Journals Publishing Articles on Particular Topics

Click to open Scopus in a new tab
You can also find Scopus on Quicklinks on the Library Home by clicking on Popular Databases, or Databases A-Z.
If you want help on using Scopus click on How to Search Scopus.

Example search

Limit your search to the last 5-7 years.
Consider what document types are of interest. You may want to search for both Article or Article or Review and for Article in Press.

These two searches, one for articles or reviews, the other for articles in press can be ORed together.


 

When your search result appears click on Analyze search results.

 

On the next screen Scopus shows the number of published articles by the date range you specified in your search.
Click on the Sources tab to find the number of articles published by journal title during this time.

 

On the next screen you can add or delete journal titles from the list in the left-hand sidebar.
Each journal title is linked so that you can find more info about the journal by clicking on the journal title.

 

On the right of the image above you can see the number of articles published by year for the 5 journals that Scopus has found to have published most articles in your search area.

On the right side of the screen you can see this in a graph of the number of documents published year by year for a particular journal title.

 

Click on the link Compare sources and view CiteScore, SJR, and SNIP data.

To find more info on this go to the Compare journal impact screen here.
Then click on the Scopus Compare Journals tab.

EBSCOHost Research Databases

Click on the link to the EBSCOHost databases above.
Choose the most relevant database(s) from the list or click in the Select box to select all the databases (fig 1). 

Figure 1 Selecting All EBSCOhost Databases


Note that one database Mental Measurements Yearbook is not a bibliographic database so it won't help you to find articles. Also this database allows only one user at a time,
Unless you are looking for psych instruments then scroll down the list of databases and deselect Mental Measurements Yearbook. (fig 2).

Figure 2. Deselecting Mental Measurements Yearbook

 

Click on the Continue button.

Figure 3 Finalize your selection by clicking Continue

Before searching for your topic limit your search to scholarly (peer reviewed) journals.
Limit to appropriate years. It's probably not worth searching for articles published more than 5 or 6 years ago.

Figure 4 Limiting to articles published in peer reviewed journals in the last 5 years

Search for journal articles on your topic e.g. Marketing and "social media" (fig 5).

Figure 5.
Searching across EBSCOhost databases

Look for the Publications link in the left-hand side-bar (fig 6).

Figure 6. Selecting the Publication option in the left hand side bar

When you click on this link, a list of journal titles will appear, showing the number of articles published in each title (fig 7). This will help you to produce a short list of journals for your article.

Figure 7.The ranked list appears

Help for searching EBSCO databases with dentistry examples

Web of Science This link is for all the available databases included in the Library's subscription to
Web of Science Core Collection.

Step 1 Selecting Databases

You can select one ore more databases to search.
Click on the drop down menu in the top banner.

 

Click to select a single database, all the Core Collection databases or All Databases.
 


 

Step 2 Selecting a Date Range

Decide which years to search.
There is probably not much point in searching further back than 6 or 7 years.
Use the drop down menu to select a recent date range.

 

Step 3 More Settings (If using Core Collection)

If you are using the Core Collection you can click on the More Settings option to select which databases to use from this collection.

.

Click on a tick mark to remove a database from the search.
Most users should include all these databases.

 

Step 4 Searching

Enter your search, perhaps making it a bit broader than if you were looking for articles specifically on your topic.

A search on the risks involved in binge drinking might look like the search below.

 

Step 5 Finding the Journals

When your results appear scroll down to screen to click on Source Titles in the left hand sidebar.

 

This will produce a list of the journals that publish articles on your topic ranked by the number of articles.
To see more journals listed click on more options/values.

 

All Web of Science databases provide a ranked list of journals. You'll see a ranked list of journal titles if you search 1 database, the Core Collection or All databases.

 

Step 6 Analysing the Results
Click on the Analyze Results link in the top right of the screen.

 

Scroll down the first column to click on Source Titles.
Click on the Analyze button.

From this list of journals you can select a short list of journals for further investigation.

Links to the Databases shown in the list above.

Academic OneFile (broad subject coverage)

ACM Digital Library (computer science)

Anthrosource (anthropology)

ASCE Library (Civil Engineering)

ASFA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (aquatic organisms and environments)

IEEE Xplore Digital Library (electrical and electronic engineering)

International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP) (all aspects of music)

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) (linguistics and language science)

MLA (Modern Language Association) International Bibliography

Project MUSE (humanities and social sciences)

ScienceDirect (a wide range of science but all from one publisher, Elsevier)

Scifinder (anything remotely associated with chemistry)

Sociological Abstracts (sociology, social work, behavioural sciences and related disciplines

SPIE Digital Library (optics and photonics)

Water Resources Abstracts (Earth’s air, land, and water environments. This database includes Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts listed above)

Loading