Databases

Use the Find by SUBJECT drop down box to find the most useful databases for your subject

Frequently used databases

The most frequently-used databases

Frequently used

PubMed covers biomedical literature with links to free full-text. This customised version of PubMed for the University of Adelaide allows access to the University's online full-text journal articles.
This version is therefore accessible only to University of Adelaide staff and students.

SciVal

Frequently used

SciVal offers quick, easy access to the research performance of 6,000 research institutions and 220 nations worldwide. SciVal enables you to visualize research performance, benchmark relative to peers, develop collaborative partnerships and analyse research trends.

How to access SciVal:
Users will need to sign in using their existing Elsevier account details (which can be created in Scopus).

Scopus

Frequently used

Scopus is a core multidisciplinary database, the largest abstracts database of peer-reviewed literature including journals, books and conference proceedings. It also offers citation analysis/bibliometrics for authors and articles. Coverage mostly from 1960.

Web of Science

Frequently used

A core platform of multidisciplinary and scientific abstracts databases, including Web of Science Core Collection, Biosis Citation Index, CAB Abstracts and Global Health, Current Contents Connect, Medline, Russian Citation Index, SciELO Citation Index and Zoological Record. Can search all databases simultaneously and also access Journal Citation Reports (impact factors), Essential Science Indicators, InCites, Publons, Kopernio and EndNote from this Clarivate Analytics platform.

New / Trial Databases

The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.

AccessEngineering

New

Access to over 700 e-books from all disciplines of engineering, including the latest editions of titles such as Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers, Perry's Chemical Engineers Handbook, Standard Handbook for Electrical Engineers, Roark's Formulas for Stress and Strain, and Schaum's Outlines, plus interactive case studies and solution walkthroughs, engineering calculators, and a data visualisation tool.

AccessPhysiotherapy

New

Alternate Name(s) Access physiotherapy McGraw-Hill's AccessPhysiotherapy McGraw-Hill's Access physiotherapy

Online resource for physical therapy students, educators, and practicing professionals. Features content and images from leading McGraw-Hill textbooks; drug database; curricular tools; review questions and answers; and multimedia study aids, including interactive program entitled: Anatomy & physiology revealed.

Veterinary Source

New

Veterinary Source is a collection of full-text scholarly journals and magazines devoted to all aspects of animal healthcare. International in scope, it is an essential resource for veterinarians, veterinary assistants, and students of veterinary science. It provides access to research on the prevention, control, diagnosis and treatment of diseases and injury in animals, including animal pathology and parasitology, veterinary medicinal care and practices, anatomy and physiology, small and large animal care, nutrition, diagnosis, and animal reproduction and breeding.