Legislation

Finding Australian and Foreign legislation

Foreign legislation

UK Legislation
Legislation.gov.uk carries most (but not all) types of legislation and their accompanying explanatory documents from 1988.

Westlaw UK This link opens in a new window
Includes access to UK consolidated legislation from 1267, updated daily, Legal Journals Index for finding UK and EU journal articles & over 110 full text journals. Case law from Session Cases, Fleet Street Reports & English Reports. Does not hold full text of ICLR authorised law report series - use ICLR. Insight, online encyclopedia.
vLex Justis This link opens in a new window
vLex Justis is a full text database of case law and legislation, and a citator. Subscription contains UK Core, Ireland Core, Irish Reports & Digest, English Reports and State Trials. UK full-text content from case law dates back to 1163; UK legislation from 1235. Contains access to reported and unreported cases. Caselaw is marked up to show positive and negative treatments, and citing authorities.
ICLR online This link opens in a new window
Full text access to the authorised reports of UK, from 1865. Includes Law Report series, Weekly Law Reports & The Industrial Cases Reports.

UK Parliament
Includes all information about the UK Parliament, including Hansard, Bills and Committee information.
British and Irish Legal Information Institute (BAILII)
Curates access to freely available British and Irish public legal information, including legislation and case law
Foreign Law Guide: United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland sources
sources of foreign law including citations to legislation, the existence of English translations and selected references to secondary sources
Law Society (UK) policy articles
The Law Society campaigns on behalf of the profession on topics of importance within the legal sector
Library of Congress - UK legal links
Guide to UK legislation and other starter websites
Magna Carta - from the British Library
800 years of the Magna Carta is explored and its role in the US Constitution is also considered

Ministry of Justice
The New Zealand Ministry of Justice delivers court and tribunal services including collection of fines and reparation, provides policy advice and negotiates Treaty of Waitangi claims on behalf of the Government.
New Zealand Legislation
Free access to New Zealand Legislation. It provides access to Acts, Legislative Instruments, Other Instruments, Bills, and Supplementary Order Papers. It provides official copies of Acts and Legislative Instruments.
Foreign Law Guide: New Zealand sources
Access primary sources including the Official Gazette, Compilations or Official Codifications, Session Laws, Codes and Court Reports.
Margaret Greville's Access to New Zealand Law
Comprehensive information and links to NZ law and where to start researching particular types of law, eg, criminal law or business law.
New Zealand Law Society
Mostly of relevance to members but contains some information which may be of interest to others especially if researching NZ Law.

Canadian Justice Laws Website
Online source of the consolidated Acts and regulations of Canada. The consolidations are generally updated every two weeks.
Canadian Legal Information Institute (CanLII)
Canadian Legal Information Institute, a Federation of Law Societies of Canada initiative providing access to documents by jurisdiction and collection. (Canadian equivalent of AustLII.)
Foreign Law Guide: Canada sources
Access primary sources including the Official Gazette, Compilations or Official Codifications, Session Laws, Codes and Court Reports.
Supreme Court of Canada
In accordance with the Supreme Court Act, the Supreme Court of Canada consists of the Chief Justice and eight puisne judges. The Supreme Court of Canada is an important national institution that is positioned at the pinnacle of the judicial branch of Canada’s government.

Hong Kong Legal Information Institute (HKLII)
Curates access to freely available Hong Kong public legal information, including legislation, case law, historical laws and Hong Kong Treaty Series.
Hong Kong elegislation
Hong Kong e-Legislation (HKeL) is the official database of Hong Kong legislation. It provides free online access to current and past versions of consolidated legislation dating back to 30 June 1997 and PDF copies marked “verified copy” have official legal status. The database is maintained by the Department of Justice.
Hong Kong Practice Directions
Guidance on Practice Directions

Pacific Islands Legal Information Institute (PACLII)
PACLII is a free legal website on Pacific Islands primary legal material.
Asian Legal Information Institute (AsianLII)
Asian Legal Information Institute - free access to Asian law via 28 Asian jurisdictions.
Hong Kong Legal Information Institute (HKLII)
Curates access to freely available Hong Kong public legal information, including legislation, case law, historical laws and Hong Kong Treaty Series.
Legal Information Institute of India

USA.gov
USA.gov is the online guide to government information and services
Congress.gov
Congress.gov is the official website for US federal legislative information. The site provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public. It is presented by the Library of Congress.
Supreme Court of the United States
The Supreme Court is the highest tribunal in the nation for all cases and controversies arising under the Constitution or the laws of the United States
American Law Sources Online
A comprehensive, uniform and useful compilation of links to freely accessible on-line sources of commentary and practice aids
Cornell University Law School
An excellent starting point for accessing US law.
Foreign Law Guide: United States sources
sources of foreign law including citations to legislation, the existence of English translations and selected references to secondary sources
LawGuru
A site with comprehensive links to research, States and general free legal information. A good starting point when searching for US laws.
Legal Information Institute (LII)
A small US based group at Cornell Law School ensures that the law remains free and open to everyone, which includes supporting global expansion of the free access to law movement, empowering citizens and serving the legal profession,

European Union legal documents
EUR-Lex provides access to the complete text of EU legal documents
National laws of European Union Member States
N-Lex provides access to national laws of EU Member States

Foreign Law Guide This link opens in a new window
Contains information on sources of foreign law including citations to legislation, the existence of English translations and selected references to secondary sources. An excellent source for comparative law research for over 190 jurisdictions.