Case law

Finding Australian and foreign case law

Key resources

Westlaw AU This link opens in a new window
Australian reported cases since 1825, and unreported cases since 1999. Full Text of Halsbury's Laws of Australia. This database holds full text access to the authorised law report series of Australia.
CaseBase (Lexis Advance) This link opens in a new window
Recommended resource. Case Citator. Contains Australian case law + UK & US decisions that have been cited by Australian courts. Key reports: ALR, ALJR, Crim LR, Fam LR, MVR, NZLR, + more. Note - consult Westlaw AU for the Australian Authorised Law Reports with PDF attached.
iKnowConnect (CCH Australia) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive coverage - CCH Australia legal database. including: legislation, cases, analysis, eBooks.
Key Number System (Westlaw AU) This link opens in a new window
Recommended resource. The key number system identifies and indexes legal concepts by topic, locate cases stating or applying a legal concept. Click on a specific topic to display sub-topics or enter a search term in the title search bar. View by content or cases.

LawCite (AustLII)
Free online Australian case citator. Find decisions, cases, law reform documents and journal articles available in the database. Decisions available are full text unreported judgments.
JADE
JADE (Judgments and Decisions Enhanced) is a free current awareness service, contains recent decisions of some Australian Courts and Tribunals in a searchable database.

Westlaw AU This link opens in a new window
Australian reported cases since 1825, and unreported cases since 1999. Full Text of Halsbury's Laws of Australia. This database holds full text access to the authorised law report series of Australia.
Lexis Advance This link opens in a new window
Key Australian and New Zealand legal research database which includes cases, legislation, legal commentary, journals, Halsbury's Laws of Australia, the Encyclopaedic Australian Legal Dictionary and CaseBase (case citator)
iKnowConnect (CCH Australia) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive coverage - CCH Australia legal database. including: legislation, cases, analysis, eBooks.

JADE
Legislation in JADE gives you the current text and part or section-by-section identification of cases citing the relevant provision. This feature requires Professional access which is available to students on request to editors@jade.io.

AustLII This link opens in a new window
AustLII provides free access to Australian legal material including court and tribunal judgments, legislation, Law Reform Commission reports, treaties and some Australian Law Reviews.

ICLR online This link opens in a new window
Full text access to the authorised reports of UK, from 1865. Includes Law Report series, Weekly Law Reports & The Industrial Cases Reports.
Westlaw UK This link opens in a new window
Includes access to UK consolidated legislation from 1267, updated daily, Legal Journals Index for finding UK and EU journal articles & over 110 full text journals. Case law from Session Cases, Fleet Street Reports & English Reports. Does not hold full text of ICLR authorised law report series - use ICLR. Insight, online encyclopedia.
vLex Justis This link opens in a new window
vLex Justis is a full text database of case law and legislation, and a citator. Subscription contains UK Core, Ireland Core, Irish Reports & Digest, English Reports and State Trials. UK full-text content from case law dates back to 1163; UK legislation from 1235. Contains access to reported and unreported cases. Caselaw is marked up to show positive and negative treatments, and citing authorities.
Lexis Advance (US and International) This link opens in a new window
Full text legislation, caselaw, journal articles primarily from USA. Full text All England Reports. Also includes content from UK, Australia, Canada and Europe. Law reviews and journals (including Australian law journals) and more. Select international materials to search material other than USA
Westlaw (Thomson Reuters) This link opens in a new window
Westlaw (Thomson Reuters) is a US based collection of full text databases. Coverage includes US, UK & Canadian case law, US legislation, more than 700 law reviews, selected international materials and newspapers form most parts of the world including Australia (Adelaide - The Advertiser)
Foreign Law Guide This link opens in a new window
Contains information on sources of foreign law including citations to legislation, the existence of English translations and selected references to secondary sources. An excellent source for comparative law research for over 190 jurisdictions.
International Encyclopedia of Comparative Law Online This link opens in a new window
full-text searching across all archival content published over last three decades

British and Irish Legal Information Institute (BAILII)
Curates access to freely available British and Irish public legal information, including legislation and case law

New Zealand Legal Information Institute (NZLII)
Free access to New Zealand legal information: cases, legislation and secondary materials
Courts of New Zealand
Contains recent judicial decisions of particular public interest. Includes Supreme Court transcripts
New Zealand Legislation
Free access to New Zealand Legislation. It provides access to Acts, Legislative Instruments, Other Instruments, Bills, and Supplementary Order Papers. It provides official copies of Acts and Legislative Instruments.
New Zealand Legislation (Lexis Advance)
New Zealand legislation: Acts, Regulations
Judicial Decisions Online
Searchable database of judgments and decisions sourced from New Zealand Courts

Asian Legal Information Institute (AsianLII)
Asian Legal Information Institute - free access to Asian law via 28 Asian jurisdictions.

Westlaw Asia This link opens in a new window
Westlaw Asia. It is a single platform for searching Asian legal materials across multiple countries within a single search. It is a useful tool for comparative law research.

Westlaw (Thomson Reuters) This link opens in a new window
Westlaw (Thomson Reuters) is a US based collection of full text databases. Coverage includes US, UK & Canadian case law, US legislation, more than 700 law reviews, selected international materials and newspapers form most parts of the world including Australia (Adelaide - The Advertiser)
Lexis Advance (US and International) This link opens in a new window
Full text legislation, caselaw, journal articles primarily from USA. Full text All England Reports. Also includes content from UK, Australia, Canada and Europe. Law reviews and journals (including Australian law journals) and more. Select international materials to search material other than USA