Indigenous health
A starting point for information and resources on Indigenous health.
Key resources
- Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander mental healthFrom the Royal Australian & New Zealand College of Psychiatrists – information, educational resources, and links.
- AIDAAustralian Indigenous Doctors’ Association supporting Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander medical students and doctors.
- AIHW Indigenous AustraliansAIHW produces a range of reports on the health and welfare of Australia's Indigenous population.
- Australian Indigenous HealthInfoNetHas summaries and reviews on a wide range of health conditions affecting Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people.
- Department of Health – Indigenous HealthThis site includes information about Government programs and activities supporting improvements in Indigenous health.
- Indigenous Allied Health Australia (IAHA)IAHA is the National peak body representing Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander allied health professionals and students.
- Lowitja PublicationsLowitja Institute is Australia’s national institute for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health research.
Medical databases:
Australian databases:
- Informit: Indigenous collection This link opens in a new windowSee Informit searching tips page for how to use.
- Llt.SearchProduced by the Lowitja Institute, provides access to Aborginal and Torres Strait Islander health literature on the PubMed database via 27 search topics.
- Australian Indigenous HealthInfoNet publicationsWhile only a small database, it covers some literature not indexed elsewhere. It includes records of published reports, books and book chapters; journal articles; and unpublished 'grey literature'. Grey literature indexed includes theses; unpublished government and non-government organisational reports; discussion and working papers; statistical documents; fact sheets; and selected conference papers.
Multidisciplinary databases:
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS):
- The National Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Survey, 2018-19Information on a number of topics is available for the first time, including mental health conditions, medications, consumption of sugar sweetened and diet drinks, experiences of harm and a hearing test.
Australian Institute of Health & Welfare:
- Aboriginal health videosA range of videos, some online, available at the Library using Library Search.
- Lowitja Institute YouTube ChannelFocuses on the health and wellbeing of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples.
- NACCHO (National Aboriginal Community Controlled Health Organisation) TVInterviews with Aboriginal health leaders and community members in urban, rural and remote locations throughout Australia.
NHMRC site links:
- NHMRC Ethical guidelines for research with Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander PeoplesEthical guidelines for research with Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Peoples.
- National Network for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health researchersNHMRC funding for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health researchers.
- Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander healthNHMRC health advice.
Research units:
- Wardliparingga Aboriginal Research UnitThis unit within SAHMRI conducts research that is of direct relevance to Aboriginal people in South Australia.
- The National Indigenous Research(er) Capacity Building Network e-BulletinSubscribe to the IRNet e-Bulletin
- Aboriginal health - health.vicVictoria Government website for Aboriginal health.
- Aboriginal Health and Medical Research Council of NSWThe site provides information on Aboriginal health matters including reports, news and programs.
- Aboriginal Health Council of SAHealth resources for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders.
- Closing the GapClosing the Gap aims to improve the lives of all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Australians.
- Coalition of PeaksThe Coalition of Peaks is a representative body of around 50 Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander community-controlled organisations who are working towards an agreement making process with COAG for Closing the Gap.
- HepatitisSA LibrarySearch the catalogue to find resources relating to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples.
- NSW Government Aboriginal HealthImproving Aboriginal health is a key focus for the NSW health system, with more Aboriginal people living in NSW.
- WellmobWellMob brings together online resources made by and for our mob.
- Black & brown skinMind the Gap: A handbook of clinical signs in Black and Brown skin.
- Birthing on CountryA brilliant example of cross cultural service delivery and a fabulous collaborative health research project too.
- Last Updated: Jan 23, 2023 2:19 PM
- URL: https://libguides.adelaide.edu.au/indigenoushealth
- Print Page
