Open Educational Resources

Open educational resources are course materials that anyone can freely retain, revise, remix, reuse and redistribute.

Finding OER music

You can find free sheet music and sound recordings online to use in your teaching.

Below is a short list where you can start searching for OER music. Many of these platforms contain CC licensed and all rights reserved music so you'll need to filter your results and look at the license for the individual music.

Note: If you are planning on adding music to a video you will need to ensure that the Creative Commons license permits the creation of derivative works.

Audionauti
Collection of music recordings created by Jason Shaw and released under a Creative Commons Attribution license.
ccMixter
Free music tracks and samples released under Creative Commons licenses.
Film music
Collection of Creative Commons licensed music suitable to use in video projects.
Free Music Archive
Collection of free MP3s with associated reuse rights.
Freesound
Collection of public domain and Creative Commons sound recordings/effects.
International Music Score Library Project (IMSLP)
Library of music scores and recordings which are in the public domain or released under a Creative Commons license.
MusOpen
Collection of public domain or Creative Commons licensed sheet music and recordings.
OpenScore
Collection of public domain sheet music from musescore.

Finding Creative Commons music on SoundCloud

Wikimedia Commons - sheet music
Collections of public domain or Creative Commons licensed sheet music.