Search health databases

Learn how to use the major health databases to find the best available evidence for your research

Introduction to PsycINFO

Introduction to PsycINFO
Further help: PsycINFO searching

Using PsycINFO:

PsycINFO includes records for peer-reviewed journals, books, book chapters, and theses. Coverage extends beyond psychology to include selected material from related disciplines such as medicine, law, social work, neuroscience, and business.

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Covers journals, books, and book chapters in psychology from the 1800s to the present.

PsycINFO search steps:

PsycINFO: Using Thesaurus terms
PsycINFO: Titles abstracts and keywords
PsycINFO: Logic grid
PsycINFO: Running the search
Human studies only
A quick reference guide for how to safely eliminate animal studies from your search results.

PsycINFO video series

Please note: The video series below features an older version of the PsycINFO search interface. The steps and search functionality remain the same, but the web page will look slightly different when you enter the database.

Searching PsycINFO on the OVID platform
This video demonstrates how to use PsychINFO, and is also useful for learning Medline, as they both use the same Ovid platform). (9:50)
PsycINFO: Field codes 1: the Thesaurus of Indexing Terms
This video introduces you to PsycINFO's Thesaurus of indexing terms and shows you how it works. (3.55 mins)
PsycINFO: Field Codes 2: Titles, Abstracts, Textwords & Multiple Fields
This video shows you how to search some additional fields to extend your Thesaurus searching. (8.28 mins)

Additional resources

PsycINFO field codes full list
A complete list of PsychINFO field codes as required on the Ovid platform
PsycINFO complete guide
A comprehensive guide to using PsycINFO effectively for your literature searches