Skip to main content

Psychology

Resources by Topic

On this page are some links to web sites of general interest for psychology. Some of the material on my psychiatry page, and  some of the links on my translational health page, may also be of interest.

Evidence-Based Medicine
Resources include links to the full text of books and journal articles, and notes on the development of the Cochrane Library

Indigenous Health

Post-Traumatic Stress

Qualitative Research

Rating Scales

Treatment Guidelines

 



AmoebaWeb: Psychology on the Web
AmoebaWeb is maintained by Douglas Degelman, Professor of Psychology at Vanguard University of Southern California.

Behavior OnLine: The Mental Health and Behavioral Science Meeting Place
This site aspires to be "the premier World Wide Web gathering place for mental health professionals and applied behavioral scientists.." It has a number of interesting discussion groups in which well known authorities in their field participate. For example there is a discussion group on EMDR (Eye Movement Desensitization and Reprocessing) in which Francine Shapiro participates.

Classics in the History of Psychology
A treasure trove of classic papers in psychology.

Cognitive Science
From the Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy, a section on cognitive science, with links to further resources on the web.

Glossary of Psychological Terms
From the American Psychological Association.

The Internet Glossary of Statistical Terms
A well set out glossary with illustrations.

Psychological Research on the Net
Links from Hanover College Psychology Department.

Psychology Web Links by Topic
From the Social Psychology Network, maintained by Scott Plous, Wesleyan University. It has links to a vast array of resources, and the lists are divided by topic.

Psych Web
This Web site contains lots of psychology-related information for students and teachers of psychology. Amongst other resources it has links to sites which offer scholarly information about subtopics within the field of psychology.

The Psychology of Evil
A TED talk by Philip Zimbardo

The Narcissism Epidemic
All in the MInd, Radio National Sunday May 18, 2014

The Quantitative Study of Dreams
This site is the work of Adam Schneider and G. William Domhoff, University of California at Santa Cruz.

The Stanford Prison Experiment: A Simulation Study of the Psychology of Imprisonment
This web site features an extensive slide show and information about the dramatic simulation of prison life conducted in the summer of 1971 at Stanford University, by Philip Zimbardo and others. The site now also explores links to the abuses at Abu Ghraib Prison.

SUNY Stony Brook and the New York Attachment Consortium.
One of my favourite sites, with a wealth of material on attachment theory.

World Database of Happiness
Described as a "continuous register of scientific research on subjective appreciation of life" directed by Ruut Veenhoven from the Erasmus University Rotterdam, this site contains the Bibliography of Happiness, a collection of over 3,000 scientific publications accessible by author or subject; the Catalog of Happiness in Nations, providing responses from over 1,500 national happiness surveys taken in 93 different countries between 1946 and 1996; the Catalog of Happiness Correlates, which presents the abstracts of correlational research findings from 662 studies worldwide; and finally, the Directory of Happiness Investigators, an international listing of more than 3,300 happiness researchers.