Skip to main content

Standards: Home

Accessing full text

The library subscribes to Standards Australia and IEEE online and staff/students can access full text standards from these websites.

If you would like to look at a full text standard from another source (eg. ISO) please contact your Research Librarian for information about access and purchasing. 

What is a standard?

A standard:

  • sets out specifications or procedures
  • can cover a product, service or system
  • aims to ensure safety, reliability and consistency

Standards cover geographic areas

  • National
  • Regional (eg. Australia/NZ)
  • International

Standards cover both products, services and systems.

Standards are not law, and Standards Australia is not part of the Government. However, if a standard is referenced in legislation it does become mandatory.

Finding standards

  • Annual book of ASTM Standards
    The American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM) develops and publishes technical standards for testing materials, potential products and services. The library buys a new edition at 2-3 year intervals. 
    Find these in hard copy at the Barr Smith, Level 2, call number 620.106 A5
    The volumes are separated by topic. View the contents here. â€‹
  • ISO - International Organization for Standardization
    Includes services, news, a list of standards organisations for each country, a searchable catalogue of ISO standards and online purchase.

International
National Information Standards Organization​
NISO is a not-for-profit association accredited by the American National Standards Institute (ANSI). This website contains the full text of ANSI/NISO standards, freely available for download and reproduction for non-commercial purposes. 

Asia

Japanese Standards Association
This website is the sales site for all Japanese standards and publications. Search for JIS, ISO, and IEC standards.

Europe

Deutsches Institut für Normung (DIN) (Germany)
Search for German standards as well as those at a European and international level. 

New Zealand

Standards New Zealand
Standards New Zealand are responsible for developing Standards in collaboration with Standards Australia. This website allows searching of standards, handbooks and other documents. 

United Kingdom

BSI British Standards 
BSI is the UK's National standards body. Search for specific standards or browse by sector or subject area. 

United States

American Society of Mechanical Engineers
The ASME produced over 600 technical standards and codes in various technical areas and has a searchable catalogue of all documents.

American National Standards Institute
ANSI is the official US representative to the International Organization for Standardization (ISO). The ANSI website has a searchable catalogue of ANSI US and international standards.

National Institute of Standards and Technology (USA)
The NIST website allows searching of recent publications as well as browsing by topic. 

 

 

Loading

Printed standards

Only a few standards are held in print form.

To find them, use Library Search under the individual title of the standard or under the name of the issuing organisation.

Standards in real life

Interested in knowing how standards are applied in real life situations?

The ISO website explains how standards concerning water are helping address global water challenges.

Standards exist for various issues including treating waste water and supplying water during crisis.