Standards

How to find standards

Key resources

Engineering Workbench
Engineering Workbench by Accuris provides access to Australian and International Standards (including ISO, ASTM, BSI, and ASHRAE standards). The Library provides access to the Australian Standards and a selection of international standards. The database allows you to search for related bibliographic information including technical articles, journals, patents and patent applications, and utility modes.

Library QRG Accessing a Standard via Engineering Workbench

Engineering Workbench (EWB) account

You should not need to manually register for an Engineering Workbench account; if you had registration details with TechStreet, they have have been transferred to this new platform. When you click on the link to access Engineering Workbench for the first time, an account is automatically created for you.

It is recommended you access EWB via the Chrome web browser

User limits and Secure PDF Settings

Please note there is a user limit for some resources in this database. Ensure that you log out when you have finished viewing and/or downloading your standard so other users can access this database. To exit a standard if you are using EWB in Chrome and Edge, press the exit 'X' icon in the top right-hand corner of the display screen. If you are using EWB in Firefox, you will need to close the tab as the 'X' icon does not appear when viewing standards in this browser. EWB will then time out of the standard after 15 minutes.

Viewing Engineering Workbench standards offline

Most standards can be read online in the Document Viewer. You can annotate, bookmark and share comments within this platform. If you want to view a standard offline, you will need to download the Adobe Plug-In FileOpen. If you are using a device connected to the university network, please contact ITDS directly to request a download of this plug-in as it is unavailable for download in the Software Centre. For instructions on how to load Adobe Plug-In FileOpen on your own device, please see the QRGs below.

For issues with File Open and Chrome, refer to the Accuris Help Center for instructions to adjust the settings.

Please note, some standards on EWB are protected by Digital Rights Management (DRM). You can only open a secure PDF document with Adobe Acrobat Reader that has the FileOpen Systems Inc. plugin installed. To tell if a standard is protected by DRM, look for the padlock symbol on the the right-hand side of the display screen.

FileOpen
The FileOpen plugin is required in addition to Adobe Reader (or another PDF reader) to view and download documents from Australian Standards Online. This software can be downloaded for free at FileOpen.

Engineering Workbench Customer Academy

The Engineering Workbench Customer Academy provides extensive training resources that cover the fundamentals of how to use EWB plus some of its advanced features. There are videos and short courses for you to explore. Customer Academy can be accessed through the EWB platform or through the link below. You may be prompted to create an account. Once logged in, select Engineering Workbench Fundamentals and the resource 'Welcome to Engineering Workbench' for an overview of how to get started.

Engineering Workbench Customer Academy - Engineering Workbench Fundamentals
Interactive videos, guides, and resources for Engineering Workbench Users designed to set you up for success.

Engineering Workbench Help Resources

Engineering Workbench help page
Contact customer support. Help is also available within the EWB platform by selection the question mark icon (?) on the page you are viewing.

Additional Resources

IEEE Xplore digital library This link opens in a new window
From the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers. Full text of IEEE journals, transactions and magazines. Also includes standards and Wiley ebooks. Abstract records and full text articles published since 1988 with select content published since 1893. Also covers IET journals and conference proceedings and more than 3,100 papers from 20+ VDE VERLAG conference titles.

Annual Book of ASTM Standards
The American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM) develops and publishes technical standards for testing materials, potential products and services. (Print resource)