Humanities
Art History
Art history, art, and museum studies books are shelved in several areas of the Library.
Level 1 North
069 Museum Science
174 Occupational Ethics
Level 1 - Near entrance to Special Collections
Indigenous Collection
- Yaitya NgutupiraYaitya Ngutupira comes from the Kaurna language meaning about Aboriginal knowledge.
Level 2 South - In area adjacent to the Reading Room
700 Arts
704 Special topics in fine and decorative arts
708 Galleries, museums, private collections of fine & decorative arts
709 Art History, geographic treatment, biography
759 Historic, geographic, persons
Take the virtual tour of the Library collection to see where the art, art history and museum studies books are shelved.
Library walk-through tour: full video (10:28)
- MetPublicationsFrom the Metropolitan Museum of Art. Free to read online and download.
- Getty Publications Virtual LibraryRead online and download for free.
To find journal articles see the Art History databases here:
Art & Architecture source is particularly useful
- Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new windowThe database that covers a broad range of subjects from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. It features full-text articles, indexing and abstracts for an array of journals, books and more.
Searching guide for Art & Architecture Source
Newspapers are a great place to find reviews. See current newspaper databases here:
See Trove for historic Australian newspapers
- Historic Australian Newspapers 1803-1954 (Trove) This link opens in a new windowSearch for newspapers published in each Australian state and territory from the 1800s to the mid-1950s.
You'll also find reviews in these databases
- APA-FT This link opens in a new windowAPA-FT (Australian Public Affairs - Full Text) includes citations (from 1978 onwards) and full text (from 1995 onwards) for journal articles, selected newspaper articles, conference papers and books in Australian business, health, current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences.
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new windowCovers all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and includes full-text newspapers from around the world.
- ARTstor This link opens in a new windowA nonprofit digital library of images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences with a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.
- Google Arts and CultureSelect Artists, Art Movements or Mediums from side menu
- The Metropolitan Museum of Art - Open Access ArtworkBrowse more than 400,000 hi-res images of public-domain works in The Met collection that can be downloaded, shared, and remixed without restriction.
- Open Educational Resources: ImagesThere are a huge number of OER images available online for educational and illustrative purposes.This list is only a small selection.
- Last Updated: Aug 12, 2024 9:00 AM
- URL: https://libguides.adelaide.edu.au/Humanitiesportal
- Print Page
