Case law
Finding Australian and foreign case law
- Key resources
- Understanding case law
- Authorised law reports - Australia
- Australian cases (A-Z law reports)
- Australian cases by jurisdiction
- Case law by subject & secondary sources
- Foreign caselaw A-Z
- Finding cases by legislation
- Understanding law reports
- Guides to legal citation
- Additional support This link opens in a new window
Australian cases by jurisdiction
Reports
- Administrative Appeals Reports (AAR)Volume 38 (2003) -
Search on Westlaw AU - Administrative Law Decisions (ALD)Search on Lexis Advance Pacific
- Australian Family Law Cases (FLC)Search on CCH IntelliConnect
- Australian Law Reports (ALR)Search on Lexis Advance Pacific
- Commonwealth Law Reports (CLR)Volume 1 (1903) -
Search on Westlaw AU - Family Law Reports (FamLR)Search on Lexis Advance Pacific
- Federal Court Reports (FCR)Volume 1 (1984) -
Search on Westlaw AU
High Court
- High Court of Australia: AustliiDecisions from 1903 onwards
- High Court of AustraliaThe High Court website which includes judgments and daily transcripts.
Federal Court of Australia
- Federal Court of AustraliaFederal Court decisions from 1977 - present as well as the decisions of the Australian Competition Tribunal, Copyright Tribunal, Defence Force Discipline Appeal Tribunal, Federal Police Disciplinary Tribunal, Trade Practices Tribunal and the Supreme Court of Norfolk Island
- Federal Court of Australia: AustliiDecisions from 1977 onwards
- Federal Court of Australia: Full Court: AustliiDecisions from 2002 onwards
- Federal Magistrates Court of Australia: AustliiDecisions from 2000-2013
- Federal Circuit Court of Australia: AustliiDecisions from 2013 onwards
Family Court of Australia
- Family Court of AustraliaFull Court (appeal) judgments and first instance judgments via Austlii.
- Family Court of Australia: AustliiDecisions from 1982 onwards
- Family Court of Australia: Full Court: AustliiDecisions from 2008 onwards
Reports
- Australian Capital Territory Law Reports Cases (ACTLR)Volume 1 (2007) -
Search on Westlaw AU
Austlii databases
- Austlii: all ACT case law databasesA full list of ACT case law databases
- ACT Supreme Court: Judgments & SentencesACT Supreme Court Judgments from 2008 to present
- ACT Civil and Administrative TribunalDecisions since 2009
- ACT Supreme Court - Court of AppealDecisions since 2002
- ACT Supreme Court (Full Court)Decisions since 2014
- ACT Supreme CourtDecisions since 1986
- Industrial Court of the ACTDecisions for 2014-2015
- Magistrates Court of the ACTDecisions since 2012
- Administrative Appeals Tribunal of the ACTDecisions 1993-2009
- Coroners Court of the ACTDecisions since 2013
Reports
- Northern Territory Law Reports CasesSearch on Westlaw AU
Austlii databases
- Austlii: all NT case law databasesA full list of NT case law databases
- Supreme Court of the Northern TerritoryDecisions from 1986 onwards
- Supreme Court of the Northern Territory - Court of AppealDecisions from 1986 onwards
- Supreme Court of the Northern Territory - Court of Criminal AppealDecisions from 1986 onwards
- Local Court of the Northern TerritoryDecisions from 2016 onwards. Decisions prior to 1 May 2016 are available in the Northern Territory Magistrates Court database
- Northern Territory Magistates CourtDecisions from 2002 - April 2016. Decisions after 1 May 2016 are available in the Northern Territory Local Court database
- Northern Territory JudgmentsDecisions from 1918 - 1976. Includes selected judgments of the Supreme Court of the Northern Territory, the Supreme Court of North Australia, and the Supreme Court of Central Australia (NTJud).
Reports
- New South Wales Law Reports (NSWLR)Search on Westlaw AU
Austlii databases
- Austlii: all NSW case law databasesA full list of NSW case law databases
- Supreme Court of NSWDecisions from 1993 onwards
- Supreme Court of NSW: Court of AppealDecisions from 1997 & 1999 onwards
- Supreme Court of NSW: Court of Criminal AppealDecisions from 1994 & 1996 onwards
- District Court of NSWDecisions from 1992, 1993 & 1996 onwards
- Industrial Relations Commission of NSWDecisions from 1985 onwards
Reports
- Law Reports (NSW)Decisions from 1856-1900
- State Reports (NSW)Decisions from 1901-1950
Reports
- Queensland Reports (Qd R)Search on Lexis Advance Pacific
- Queensland Law Journal Reports (QLJ(NC))1881 - 1901
Search on Westlaw - Queensland Reports Cases (Qd R, QR)1958 -
Search on Westlaw AU - Queensland Supreme Court Reports (QSCR)Volume 1 (1859 - 5(1878)
Search on Westlaw AU
Austlii databases
- Austlii: all QLD case law databasesA full list of QLD case law databases
- Supreme Court of QLDDecisions from 1994 onwards
- Supreme Court of QLD - Court of AppealDecisions from 1992 onwards
- Magistrates Court of QLDDecisions from 2006 onwards
Reports
- Queensland Crown Lands Reports (QCLLR)Crown Lands Law Reports (Queensland Land Court) 1859-1973
Authorised reports
- South Australian State Reports (SASR)Volume 1 (1971) -
Earlier Reports in print on lower ground floor of the Law Library.
Search on Westlaw AU
Austlii databases
- Austlii: all SA case law databasesA full list of SA case law databases
- Supreme Court of South AustraliaDecisions from 1977 onwards
- Supreme Court of South Australia: Full CourtDecisions from 2010 onwards
- District Court of South AustraliaDecisions from 1992 onwards
- South Australian Industrial Relations CourtDecisions from 1992 onwards
- Environmental Resources and Development Court of South AustraliaDecisions from 1996 onwards
Court websites
- Courts Administration Authority of South AustraliaJudgments handed down in the Supreme Court and District Court during the previous two months.
Authorised reports
- Tasmanian Reports (TASR)Search on Westlaw AU
Austlii databases
- Austlii: all TAS case law databasesA full list of TAS case law databases
- Supreme Court of TasmaniaDecisions from 1982 onwards
- Supreme Court of Tasmania: Full CourtDecisions from 2010 onwards
- Magistrates Court of TasmaniaDecisions from 2002 onwards
Authorised reports
- Victorian Reports (VR) Lexis AdvanceSearch on Lexis Advance
- Victorian Reports (VR)1957 -
Search on Westlaw AU
Austlii databases
- Austlii: all VIC case law databasesA full list of VIC case law databases
- Supreme Court of VictoriaDecisions from 1994 onwards
- Supreme Court of Victoria: Court of AppealDecisions from 1998 onwards
- Victorian Law ReportsDecisions from 1974-1956
Court websites
- Supreme Court of Victoria: judgments and sentencesLinks to judgments on Austlii. The library catalogue can also be searched for unreported judgments, sentencing remarks and judgment summaries from 1950 - present.
Authorised reports
- Western Australian Reports (WAR)1983 -
Search on Westlaw AU
Austlii databases
- Austlii: all WA case law databasesA full list of WA case law databases
- Supreme Court of Western AustraliaDecisions from 1996 onwards
- Supreme Court of Western Australia: Court of AppealDecisions from 1998 onwards
- District Court of Western AustraliaDecisions from 1999 onwards
Court websites
- Western Australian Supreme CourtDecisions since 1991
- Last Updated: Apr 18, 2024 12:17 PM
- URL: https://libguides.adelaide.edu.au/Law/CaseLaw
- Print Page
