Case law

Finding Australian and foreign case law

Case law by subject

Case law subject reports are based on the subject matter of cases, rather than the jurisdiction. These reports are published as part of the commentary services on the law. If you search a commentary service online you will find results from the reports included in the service.

For example:

Australian Company Law Cases
Australian Tax Cases
Industrial Reports

Halsbury's Laws of Australia (Lexis Advance Pacific)
Legal Encyclopaedia: Halsbury's Laws of Australia presents principles of law in a succinct propositional style, supported by extensive references to Australian legislative and judicial authorities. Updated Regularly
Laws of Australia Online (WestlawAU)
The Laws of Australia provides legal practitioners with a clear and concise statement of each principle of Australian law. These principles are illustrated with examples, usually including the leading relevant case or a legislative provision, placing the law in its practical context.

Looking for information from other jurisdictions? Try:

Foreign Law Guide This link opens in a new window
Contains information on sources of foreign law including citations to legislation, the existence of English translations and selected references to secondary sources. An excellent source for comparative law research for over 190 jurisdictions.

Journals

Search journal articles using relevant keywords
provide current discussion of a topic
can be searched using a database or browsed online (if full text available)
can be either peer-reviewed/academic or magazine style
includes indexed of legislation/cases discussed in the articles

Library Search
Use Library Search to find books (print and electronic), journal articles, newspapers and other items available via the library.
Law Reviews & Journals - Westlaw AU collection

Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective 1908-1981 This link opens in a new window
Topics covered include administrative law, antitrust law, banking, business law, constitutional law, criminal law, domestic relations, energy & natural resources, environmental protection, estate planning, family law, food, drug & cosmetic law, insurance law, internet & information science law, intellectual property law, international law, labor law, landlord/tenant law, legal librarianship, medicine & health care, maritime law, minorities, multinational corporations, negligence, non-profit corporations, occupational health & safety, patent & trademark, politics, probate, product liability, real property, securities, sports & entertainment law, tax law and trade regulation.

Books provide comprehensive coverage of an area of law and usually include an index of case law and legislation references

The Law Library keeps the most heavily used texts in the High Use Collection.

Library Search
Use Library Search to find books (print and electronic), journal articles, newspapers and other items available via the library.

A Practical Guide to Legal Research by Sanderson, Jay, (Law teacher), author.; Kelly, Kim
ISBN: 9780455237923
Publication Date: 2017
Available from the Law Library.
Laying Down the Law by Creyke, Robin, author.; Hamer, David, (Law teacher), author.;O'Mara, Patrick, author.;Smith, Belinda (Law teacher), author.;Taylor, Tristan S., author.
ISBN: 9780409351934
Publication Date: 2021
Available from the Law Library.