Statistics

How to find resources on statistics in the library

Economics and business statistics

Online

AusStats Australian Bureau of Statistics website
CURFs - Special access arrangements apply to Confidentialised Unit Record Files. See https://www.adelaide.edu.au/rb/resources/data-resources/
ABS Census Data
ABS links to other statistical agencies & related sites
Finance - Reserve Bank of Australia ©
An A-Z listing - also try the "Search" function to find the data you need.
Australian Food Statistics
Australia. Dept. of Agriculture and Water Resources. Data on food production and trade throughout the supply chain, from the farm gate to the retailer.

Print / microfilm

ABS Historical microfiche series statistical publications since Federation
Covers period 1901 - 1993. Ask Library staff for access and help with using microfiche
Prices, price indexes and cost of living in Australia. 1901-1912 [bk]
Knibbs, G.H., (1901) Prices, price indexes and cost of living in Australia / Melbourne [Vic.] : Commonwealth Bureau of Census & Statistics, 1912 .... Includes tables of retail prices in metropolitan towns 1901 to 1912.

OECD Agriculture Statistics
Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (ESCAP) - United Nations
Eurostat
Eurostat's main role is to process and publish comparable statistical information at the European level.
FAOSTAT
Statistics on commodities, food supply, food consumption, food balance sheets, food aid, population, and the Codex Alimentarius
Food Security Portal
Including Global Hunger Index
International Monetary Fund -Statistics
This table shows data that is available online. (See also Library Search for print & online subscriptions.)
International trade statistics [web access]
Provides statistics on trade in merchandise & commercial services
OECD Economic Outlook: Statistics and Projections
Economic Outlook is a twice-yearly analysis (available for online viewing, download, and in print) published by the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) with economic analysis and forecasts for future economic performance of OECD countries
Penn World Table
Provides data for purchasing power parity and national income accounts converted to international prices for 189 countries from 1950.
UNdata (United Nations)
United Nations statistics page. includes agriculture; finance; health; education; industry; energy; trade; tourism and more.
World development indicators online (WDI) World Bank
Obtain country time series (spreadsheets) such as: consumption, savings, education, employment, banking, health, roads, agriculture, stocks, markets etc. (see the online help). See the "Data Analyser" tool.
World Economic and Social Survey (UN)
From the United Nations Department of Economic and Social Affairs
World Economic Outlook (IMF)
The World Economic Outlook (WEO) is a survey conducted and published by the International Monetary Fund. It is published biannually and partly updated two times a year. It portrays the world economy in the near and medium context, with projections for up to four years into the future. WEO forecasts include key macroeconomic indicators, such as GDP, inflation, current account and fiscal balance of more than 180 countries around the globe. It also deals with major economic policy issues.
WTO (World Trade Organization) Statistics database
The Trade Profiles section provides standard information on the structural trade situation and trade policy measures of members, observers and other selected economies. The profiles are complemented with general macroeconomic indicators. The Time Series section provides a searchable database on international trade in merchandise and commercial services.

Trade and tariff data (WTO)

Global Consumption Database (World Bank) This link opens in a new window
The Global Consumption Database is a one-stop source of data on household consumption patterns in developing countries.
It is designed to serve a wide range of users—from researchers seeking data for analytical studies to businesses seeking a better understanding of the markets into which they are expanding or those they are already serving.

UNdata (United Nations)
United Nations statistics page. includes agriculture; finance; health; education; industry; energy; trade; tourism and more.
International Economic Accounts - Bureau of Economic Analysis
International economic Accounts provide information on trade in goods and services (including the balance of payments and the balance of trade), investment income, and government and private financial flows, including US Trade in Goods and US International Transactions.
Market Access Database (MADB) - European Commission
The Market Access Database (MADB) gives information to companies exporting from the EU about import conditions in third country markets.
Eurostat
Eurostat's main role is to process and publish comparable statistical information at the European level.

World Bank Open Data This link opens in a new window
Free and open access to a comprehensive set of data about development in countries around the globe.
Find data by country, topic or World Development Indicators (WDI)

data.gov.au
From Australian Govt - an easy way to find, access and reuse public data.
Data.govt.nz
New Zealand government datasets
DATA.GOV.UK
UK Data Archive
National Bureau of Statistics of China
In Chinese and English
Data.gov.sg
Singapore government datasets
Japan Statistics Bureau & Statistics Center
In Japanese and English
EU Open Data Portal
European Union institutions
Eurostat
Eurostat's main role is to process and publish comparable statistical information at the European level.
Data.gov
US Government open data portal
UNdata (United Nations)
United Nations statistics page. includes agriculture; finance; health; education; industry; energy; trade; tourism and more.