Maps

How to find print and online maps

Digital maps

Geoscience Australia - Maps of Australia
Location SA Viewer
Access a range of S.A. government data on a topographic or satellite base map. Over 160 layers of information can be viewed including: landscape, water, geology, soils, vegetation, land boundaries.
NationalMap
NationalMap is an online map-based tool to allow easy access to spatial data from Australian government agencies.

South Australian digitised maps
Collection of digitised topographic, cadastral, geological, and rainfall maps of South Australia, also including maps showing parks and reserves, pastoral areas, hundreds, counties, transmission lines and soils.

Topographic maps of South Australia

1:2 500
Shows cadastral and local government information on topographic base.
1:10 000
Map series of South Australia showing cadastral and topographic information
1:25 000
Australia 1:25 000 topographic survey, South Australia
1:25 000
Topographic map series with local government information
1:31 680
Topographic map series with relief shown by contours and spot heights.
State Library of South Australia
The State Library has a comprehensive collection of maps of South Australia including; archival maps showing early exploration, published map series at state, regional, hundred and town level and a wide variety of single sheet maps of every category. Coverage is also held for geographic areas of interest or relevance to South Australia and of mapping by South Australian producers.
Many South Australian maps may be viewed in .pdf format through the Library catalogue.

World Maps - Oxford Reference
Includes over 775 maps, with locator, physical and political maps for each country, over 120 island maps, state maps for North America, Canada, and Mexico, and more than 100 city maps.
David Rumsey Map Collection
The collection focuses on rare 16th through 21st century maps of North and South America, as well as maps of the World, Asia, Africa, Europe, and Oceania. Digitization of the collection began in 1996 and there are now over 80,000 items online, with new additions added regularly.
Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection
70,000 map images from the Library's map collection. University of Texas.

Trove This link opens in a new window
National Library of Australia. Search maps of Australia and the world. Includes printed sheets, atlases, globes, aerial photographs, star charts, nautical charts and tourist maps.

Old Maps Online
Allows the user to search for online digital historical maps across numerous different collections via a geographical search.
Maps from the Library of Congress
The Library of Congress has the largest and most comprehensive cartographic collection in the world. Over 37,000 digital maps freely available.
Ordnance Survey Maps
Maps of England, Scotland, Wales, published by Ordnance Survey and related bodies, including the War Office (ca. 1840s-1960s). Includes British First World War Trench maps.