Medicine

This guide contains resources from the University Library to support your study and research in Medicine.

Key resources

Below are links to the key databases for Medicine. Click on the Searching health databases tab (on left) to learn how to use them effectively.

PubMed This link opens in a new window
The major database of biomedical literature (has a U.S. focus)
Embase This link opens in a new window
A huge database of medical and life science citations (has a British/European focus)

Interactive Learning Tools

AccessMedicine (ACM) This link opens in a new window
View the Multimedia section for Human anatomy modules, patient safety modules and more. Also includes case studies and study tools to test your knowledge.
BMJ Learning This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of interactive, peer reviewed learning modules, written by experts from BMJ.One time individual registration is required.

AMBOSS
All-in-one, comprehensive medical study and learning solution for med students.
Access is restricted to 3rd-5th year students studying medicine.
Henry Stewart Biomedical & Life Sciences Collection
Lectures from leading world experts covering the latest in research and developments, as well as the fundamentals of the biomedical and life sciences.

Introduction to Advanced Searching MyUni course

Our Introduction to Advanced Searching MyUni course teaches you how to develop and refine advanced search techniques and includes step-by-step guidance for creating search strategies and logic grids for Medicine databases including PubMed and Embase. We strongly recommend you enrol in this course and refer back to it throughout your studies.

Introduction to Advanced Searching MyUni course

Clinical tools

Including Point-of-Care tools (treatment and best practice) - Drug Resources - Therapeutic Guidelines

Click on the icons below to access a range of clinical tools. Decision support tools provide current evidence based information to help you answer the kind of clinical questions which arise in daily practice.They also include drug information and drug calculators. Also below is a link to the Australian Medicines Handbook.

UpToDate has been updated to allow on-campus and off-campus access for staff and students. Use the instructions in the guide below to register for an account.

UpToDate access instructions
Individual registration is required for access. Use this QRG for instructions on how to register for an account, download the mobile app, and log in to the mobile app using OpenAthens.