Theses
Where can I find theses?
PhD and Masters research theses
The majority of PhD and Masters research theses are available full-text on Adelaide Research & Scholarship (AR&S), the University's institutional digital repository, except those under an embargo.
All theses held by the Library, including print and electronic versions, are searchable in Library Search.
- Adelaide Research & Scholarship - ThesesIncludes Masters, PHD and Professional Doctorate theses. Some Masters by coursework and Honours theses are included.
Masters by Coursework and Honours theses
The Library does not usually receive copies of University of Adelaide Masters by Coursework or Honours theses. If the specific thesis you are looking for is not held in the Library then check with the relevant School for that discipline. Masters by Coursework or Honours theses may be kept in the School, although there is no requirement to do so.
- Adelaide Research & Scholarship - Honours and Coursework thesesIncludes those Masters by Coursework theses that have been digitised. Some schools may choose to include Honours theses which make a significant contribution to knowledge.
Embargoed theses
All questions regarding embargoed theses should be directed to the Adelaide Graduate Centre.
Telephone: +61 8 8313 5882 Email: graduate.centre@adelaide.edu.au
Access theses from Australian universities:
- Trove This link opens in a new windowTrove brings together content from Australian libraries, museums, archives and other research organisations, including books, theses images, historic newspapers, maps and music. Produced by the National Library of Australia.
Trove includes theses of all levels, including PhD, Masters and Honours.
To find Australian theses:
- Enter your search term, tick the ‘Australian content’ option and click on Search.
- Limit the search results to theses by clicking on the Thesis facet under Refine your results.
- For full-text online theses, tick the ‘Available online’ option under the search box.
Click on the links below for guides to searching for Australian theses provided by the National Library of Australia and Trove.
Key resource
- ProQuest Dissertations and Theses: Global This link opens in a new windowThe world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997.
Other resources
- DART-Europe E-theses PortalAccess more than 808,000 open access research theses from 617 Universities in 28 European countries.
- Doctoral dissertations in Musicology (American Musicological Society)An international database of more than 16,000 bibliographic records for completed dissertations and new dissertation topics in the fields of musicology, music theory, and ethnomusicology.
- EThOS (Electronic Thesis Online Service)British Library's Electronic Theses Online System (UK), from 1800 onwards. 260,000 theses available for free download, and many others available through the EThOS digitisation-on-demand facility (may include a charge). EThOS includes 500,000 records awarded by over 120 institutions
- The Networked Digital Library of Theses and Disertations (NDLTD)Search across multiple Electronic Thesis and Dissertation (ETD) collections.
- nzresearch.org.nzPeer-reviewed and other research from universities, polytechnics, and research organisations throughout New Zealand. Limit or browse by Thesis.
- Open Access Theses and DissertationsOver 3.5 million worldwide electronic theses and dissertations that are freely available online.
- phdData.orgDoctoral dissertations in progress around the world.
- Theses Canada PortalDatabase of Canadian theses since 1965. Includes Open Access theses
- WorldCat DissertationsAll dissertations, theses and published material based on theses cataloged by OCLC members. Over 8 million records.
- Last Updated: Jul 31, 2024 1:52 PM
- URL: https://libguides.adelaide.edu.au/theses
- Print Page
