Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Search health databases

Learn how to use the major health databases to find the best available evidence for your research
Search Strategies by Study Type:

Click on the database tabs below to find suitable pre-designed search strategies for your chosen study type:

What sort of Study Type is best to answer a clinical question?

Question Type  Study Type 
Therapy 
 
  • Systematic review (preferably based on randomised controlled trials)
  • Meta-analysis
  • RCT (Double Blind)
  • Prospective Studies
  • Retrospective Case Control Studies 
Diagnosis 
  • Controlled Trial
  • Cross Sectional 
Prognosis
  • Cohort Studies
    • Prospective Studies
  • Case Control
    • Case Series, Retrospective
Aetiology/Harm
  • RCT
  • Cohort Studies
    • Prospective Studies
  • Retrospective Case Control Studies
  • Case Reports
Prevention
  • RCT
  • Cohort Studies
Quality/Improvement
  • Meta-analysis
  • RCT

Want to run a search that will identify specific study types in PubMed?
See below a list of prepared search strategies ready to use

1. Case Control Studies

Click the link to search PubMed for Case Control Studies (includes Retrospective Studies). MeSH Definition of Case Control Studies From the National Library of Medicine's MeSH Database.

(case-control studies[mh] OR case control analys*[all] OR case control design*[all] OR case control cohort*[all] OR case control evaluation*[all] OR case control stud*[all] OR case control survey*[all] OR case comparison analys*[all] OR case comparison stud*[all] OR case referent analys*[all] OR case referent stud*[all] OR case referent survey*[all] OR case base stud*[all] OR case matched analys*[all] OR case matched stud*[all] OR retrospective analys*[all] OR retrospective evaluation*[all] OR retrospective stud*[all] OR retrospective survey*[all])

PubMed Sensitive Search

(case control[all] OR case comparison[all] OR case referent[all] OR case base[all] OR case matched[all] OR retrospective[all])

2. Retrospective Case Control Studies

Click the link to search PubMed for Retrospective Case Control Studies

((case control analys*[all] OR case control evaluation*[all] OR case control stud*[all] OR case control survey*[all] OR case comparison analys*[all] OR case comparison stud*[all] OR case referent analys*[all] OR case referent stud*[all] OR case referent survey*[all] OR "case base analysis"[all] OR "case base analyses"[all] OR case base stud*[all] OR case matched analys*[all] OR case matched stud*[all]) AND retrospective[all])

PubMed Sensitive Search

(retrospective[all] AND (case control[all] OR case comparison[all] OR case referent[all] OR case matched[all]))

3. Case Reports
Click the link to search PubMed for Case Reports. MeSH Definition of Case Reports. From the National Library of Medicine's MeSH Database.

(case reports[pt] OR case report*[all] OR case stud*[all] OR case histories[all])

4. Case Series
Click the link to search PubMed for the phrase Case Series in the title or abstract.

case series[all] OR clinical series[all] OR case report series[all]

5. Clinical Trials

Click the link to search PubMed for Clinical Trials

MeSH Definition of Clinical Trials. From the National Library of Medicine's MeSH Database

(clinical trial[pt] OR clinical trial*[all] OR phase trial*[all] OR phase 1 trial*[all] OR phase i trial*[all] OR phase 2 trial*[all] OR phase ii trial*[all] OR phase 3 trial*[all] OR phase iii trial*[all] OR phase 4 trial*[all] OR phase iv trial*[all] OR phase stud*[all] OR phase 1 stud*[all] OR phase i stud*[all] OR phase 2 stud*[all] OR phase ii stud*[all] OR phase 3 stud*[all] OR phase iii stud*[all] OR phase 4 stud*[all] OR phase iv stud*[all] OR multicenter study[pt] OR multicentre stud*[all] OR multicenter stud*[all] OR multicentre trial*[all] OR multicenter trial*[all] OR randomized controlled trial*[all] OR randomised controlled trial*[all] OR random allocation[mh] OR random allocation*[all] OR rct[all] OR rcts[all])

6. Cohort Studies

Click the link to search PubMed for Cohort Studies (includes Longitudinal Studies, Follow Up Studies, and Prospective Studies)

MeSH definition of Cohort Studies from The National Library of Medicine's MeSH Database

(cohort studies[mh] OR cohort analys*[tw] OR cohort design*[all] OR cohort evaluation*[tw] OR cohort research[all] OR cohort stud*[tw] OR cohort survey*[tw] OR concurrent stud*[tw] OR concurrent survey*[tw] OR incidence analys*[tw] OR incidence research*[all] OR incidence stud*[tw] OR incidence survey*[tw] OR longitudinal analys*[tw] OR longitudinal design*[all] OR longitudinal evaluation*[tw] OR longitudinal research[all] OR longitudinal studies[tw] OR longitudinal study[tw] OR longitudinal survey*[tw] OR follow up evaluation*[tw] OR followup evaluation*[tw] OR followup stud*[tw] OR follow up stud*[tw] OR followup survey*[tw] OR follow up survey*[tw] OR prospective analys*[tw] OR prospective design*[all] OR prospective evaluation*[tw] OR prospective studies[tw] OR prospective study[tw] OR prospective survey*[tw] OR retrospective analys*[tw] OR retrospective design*[all] OR retrospective evaluation*[tw] OR retrospective research[all] OR retrospective stud*[tw] OR retrospective survey*[tw])

7. Comparative Studies
Click the link to search PubMed for Comparative Studies

MeSH Definition of Comparative Study. From the National Library of Medicine's MeSH Database

(comparative study[pt] OR comparative analys*[all] OR comparative design*[all] OR comparative evaluation*[all] OR comparative stud*[all] OR comparative survey*[all] OR comparative clinical stud*[all])

8. Controlled Trials
Click the link to search PubMed for Controlled Trials. MeSH definition of Controlled Clinical Trial as a publication type from The National Library of Medicine's MeSH Database

(randomized controlled trial[pt] OR controlled clinical trial[pt] OR randomized[tiab] OR randomised[tiab] OR rct[all] OR rcts[all] OR placebo[tw] OR drug therapy[sh] OR randomly[tiab] OR random allocation*[all] OR controlled trial*[all] OR multicentre analys*[all] OR multicenter analys*[all] OR multicentre design*[all] OR multicenter design*[all] OR multicentre evaluation*[all] OR multicenter evaluation*[all] OR multicentre research[all] OR multicenter research[all] OR multicenter study[pt] OR multicentre stud*[all] OR multicenter stud*[all] OR multicentre survey*[all] OR multicenter survey*[all] OR multicentre trial*[all] OR multicenter trial*[all] OR cross-over studies[mh] OR cross over stud*[all] OR crossover stud*[all] OR crossover design*[all] OR cross over design*[all] OR crossover evaluation*[all] OR cross over evaluation*[all] OR cross over trial*[all] OR crossover stud*[all] OR crossover trial*[all] OR cross over trial*[all] OR pragmatic clinical trial*[all])

9. Cross Sectional Studies
Click the link to search PubMed for Cross Sectional Studies. Here is a MeSH definition of Cross Sectional Studies From the National Library of Medicine's MeSH Database

(cross-sectional studies[mh] OR cross sectional analys*[all] OR cross sectional design*[all] OR cross sectional evaluation*[all] OR cross sectional research[all] OR cross sectional stud*[all] OR cross sectional survey*[all] OR crosssectional analysis[all] OR crosssectional design[all] OR crosssectional survey*[all] OR prevalence research[all] OR prevalence stud*[all] OR prevalence survey*[all])

PubMed Sensitive Search for Cross Sectional Studies

("cross sectional"[all] OR crosssectional[all] OR prevalence research[all] OR prevalence stud*[all] OR prevalence survey*[all])

10. Empirical Research
Click the link to search PubMed for Empirical Research (includes qualitative research). MeSH Definition of Empirical Research. From the National Library of Medicine's MeSH Database

(empirical research[mh] OR empirical evaluation*[all] OR “empirical research”[all] OR empirical stud*[all] OR qualitative design*[all] OR “qualitative research”[all] OR qualitative stud*[all])

11. Epidemiological Studies

Click the link to search PubMed for Epidemiological Studies. Here is a MeSH definition of Epidemiologic Studies from the National Library of Medicine's MeSH Database.

(epidemiologic studies[mh] OR epidemiologic stud*[all] OR epidemiological stud*[all] OR epidemiologic survey*[all] OR case control analys*[all] OR case control evaluation*[all] OR case control stud*[all] OR case control survey*[all] OR case comparison analys*[all] OR case comparison stud*[all] OR case referent analys*[all] OR case referent stud*[all] OR case referent survey*[all] OR ”case based analysis”[all] OR ”case based analyses”[all] OR "case based evaluation"[all] OR case base stud*[all] OR case based stud*[all] OR case based survey*[all] OR case matched analys*[all] OR case matched stud*[all] OR cohort analys*[all] OR cohort evaluation*[all] OR cohort stud*[all] OR cohort survey*[all] OR concurrent stud*[all] OR concurrent survey*[all] OR incidence analys*[all] OR incidence stud*[all] OR incidence survey*[all] OR longitudinal analys*[all] OR longitudinal evaluation*[all] OR longitudinal studies[tw] OR longitudinal study[tw] OR longitudinal survey*[all] OR follow up evaluation*[all] OR followup evaluation*[all] OR followup stud*[all] OR follow up stud*[all] OR followup survey*[all] OR follow up survey*[all] OR prospective analys*[all] OR prospective evaluation*[all] OR prospective studies[tw] OR prospective study[tw] OR prospective survey*[all] OR retrospective analys*[all] OR retrospective evaluation*[all] OR retrospective stud*[all] OR retrospective survey*[all] OR cross-over studies[mh] OR crossover stud*[all] OR cross over stud*[all] OR crossover design*[all] OR cross over design*[all] OR cross over procedure*[all] OR crossover procedure*[all] OR cross sectional stud*[all] OR crosssectional stud*[all] OR cross sectional analys*[all] OR crosssectional analys*[all] OR cross sectional survey*[all] OR crossectional survey*[all] OR prevalence analys*[all] OR prevalence stud*[all] OR seroepidemiological analys*[all] OR seroepidemiological stud*[all] OR seroepidemiological survey*[all] OR seroepidemiologic analys*[all] OR seroepidemiologic stud*[all] OR seroepidemiologic survey*[all] OR seroprevalence*[all])

The PubMed Epidemiological Studies search without Seroepidemiologic Studies or Seroprevalence

(epidemiologic studies[mh] OR epidemiologic stud*[all] OR epidemiological stud*[all] OR epidemiologic survey*[all] OR case control analys*[all] OR case control evaluation*[all] OR case control stud*[all] OR case control survey*[all] OR case comparison analys*[all] OR case comparison stud*[all] OR case referent analys*[all] OR case referent stud*[all] OR case referent survey*[all] OR ”case based analysis”[all] OR ”case based analyses”[all] OR "case based evaluation"[all] OR case base stud*[all] OR case based stud*[all] OR case based survey*[all] OR case matched analys*[all] OR case matched stud*[all] OR cohort analys*[all] OR cohort evaluation*[all] OR cohort stud*[all] OR cohort survey*[all] OR concurrent stud*[all] OR concurrent survey*[all] OR incidence analys*[all] OR incidence stud*[all] OR incidence survey*[all] OR longitudinal analys*[all] OR longitudinal evaluation*[all] OR longitudinal studies[tw] OR longitudinal study[tw] OR longitudinal survey*[all] OR follow up evaluation*[all] OR followup evaluation*[all] OR followup stud*[all] OR follow up stud*[all] OR followup survey*[all] OR follow up survey*[all] OR prospective analys*[all] OR prospective evaluation*[all] OR prospective studies[tw] OR prospective study[tw] OR prospective survey*[all] OR retrospective analys*[all] OR retrospective evaluation*[all] OR retrospective stud*[all] OR retrospective survey*[all] OR cross-over studies[mh] OR crossover stud*[all] OR cross over stud*[all] OR crossover design*[all] OR cross over design*[all] OR cross over procedure*[all] OR crossover procedure*[all] OR cross sectional stud*[all] OR crosssectional stud*[all] OR cross sectional analys*[all] OR crosssectional analys*[all] OR cross sectional survey*[all] OR crossectional survey*[all] OR prevalence analys*[all] OR prevalence stud*[all])

12. Evaluation Studies

Click the link to search PubMed for Evaluation Studies. MeSH Definition of Evaluation Studies. From the National Library of Medicine's MeSH Database.

(evaluation studies[pt] OR evaluation stud*[all])

13. Follow-Up Studies

Click the link to search PubMed for Follow-Up Studies. MeSH Definition of Follow-Up Studies From the National Library of Medicine's MeSH Database

(follow-up studies[mh] OR follow up evaluation*[all] OR followup evaluation*[all] OR followup stud*[all] OR follow up stud*[all] OR followup survey*[all] OR follow up survey*[all])

PubMed Sensitive Search

(follow up[all] OR followup[all])

14. Health Technology Assessments

Click the link to search PubMed for Health Technology Assessments. MeSH definition of Biomedical Technology Assessment from the National Library of Medicine's MeSH Database

(technology assessment, biomedical[mh] OR technology assessment*[all])

15. Longitudinal Studies (including Follow Up Studies, and Prospective Studies)

Click the link to search PubMed for Longitudinal Studies (includes Follow Up Studies, and Prospective Studies). MeSH definition of Longitudinal Studies From the National Library of Medicine's MeSH Database

(longitudinal studies[mh] OR longitudinal analys*[all] OR longitudinal design*[all] OR longitudinal evaluation*[all] OR longitudinal research[all] OR longitudinal studies[tw] OR longitudinal study[tw] OR longitudinal survey*[all] OR follow up evaluation*[all] OR followup evaluation*[all] OR followup stud*[all] OR follow up stud*[all] OR followup survey*[all] OR follow up survey* [all] OR prospective analys*[all] OR prospective evaluation*[all] OR prospective studies[tw] OR prospective study[tw] OR prospective survey*[all])

PubMed Sensitive Search for Longitudinal Studies

(longitudinal[all] OR follow up evaluation*[all] OR followup evaluation*[all] OR follow up stud*[all] OR followup stud*[all] OR follow up survey*[all] OR followup survey*[all] OR "prospective"[all])

16. Meta Analysis

Click the link to search PubMed for Meta Analyses. MeSH Definition of Meta analysis. From the National Library of Medicine's MeSH Database

(metaanalys*[all] OR meta analys*[all])

17. Multicentre Studies

Click the link to search PubMed for Multicentre Studies. MeSH Definition of Multicenter Study. From the National Library of Medicine's MeSH Database

(multicentre analys*[all] OR multicenter analys*[all] OR multicentre design*[all] OR multicenter design*[all] OR multicentre evaluation*[all] OR multicenter evaluation*[all] OR multicentre research[all] OR multicenter research[all] OR multicentre stud*[all] OR multicenter stud*[all] OR multicentre survey*[all] OR multicenter survey*[all] OR multicentre trial*[all] OR multicenter trial*[all])

PubMed Sensitive Search

multicentre[all] OR multicenter[all]

18. Outcome Assessments

Click the link to search PubMed for Outcome Assessments. MeSH Definition of Outcome Assessment (Health Care) from the National Library of Medicine's MeSH Database

(“outcome assessment (health care)”[mh] OR outcome assessment*[all] OR outcomes assessment*[all] OR outcome stud*[all] OR outcomes stud*[all] OR outcome measure* [all] OR outcomes measure*[all] OR “outcome research”[all] OR “outcomes research”[all] OR outcome analys*[all] OR clinical efficac*[all] OR treatment outcome*[all] OR treatment effectiveness*[all] OR treatment efficac*[all] OR rehabilitation outcome*[all] OR treatment failure*[all])

19. Practice Guidelines

Click the link to search PubMed for Practice Guidelines. MeSH Definition of Practice Guidelines From the National Library of Medicine's MeSH Database.

(practice guideline[pt] OR clinical guideline*[tw] OR clinical practice guideline*[all] OR medical practice guideline*[all] OR surgical practice guideline*[all] OR clinical care pathw*[all] OR clinical path[tw] OR clinical paths[tw] OR clinical pathw*[all] OR clinical protocol*[all] OR critical path[tw] OR critical paths[tw] OR critical pathw*[all] OR consensus development*[all] OR treatment guideline*[all] OR best practice*[tw] OR guideline development[all] OR evidence based guideline*[all])

Sensitive PubMed Search

(practice guideline*[all] OR clinical guideline*[all] OR practice guideline*[all] OR clinical path[all] OR clinical paths[all] OR clinical pathw*[all] OR clinical care pathw*[all] OR clinical protocol*[all] OR critical path[tw] OR critical paths[tw] OR critical pathw*[all] OR critical care pathw*[all] OR consensus development*[all] OR treatment guideline*[all] OR best practice*[tw] OR guideline development[all] OR evidence based guideline*[all])

PubMed Very Sensitive Search

guideline*[all]

20. Prospective Studies

Click the link to search PubMed for Prospective Studies. MeSH Definition of Prospective Studies From the National Library of Medicine's MeSH Database.

(prospective analys*[all] OR prospective assessment*[all] OR prospective design*[all] OR prospective evaluation*[all] OR prospective protocol*[all] OR prospective research[all] OR prospective studies[tw] OR prospective study[tw] OR prospective survey*[all] OR prospective investigation*[all] OR prospective measures[all] OR prospective trial*[all])

21. Qualitative Research

Click the link to search PubMed for Qualitative Research. MeSH Definition of Qualitative Research. From the National Library of Medicine's MeSH Database.

(qualitative research[mh] OR qualitative design*[all] OR qualitative analysis[all] OR “qualitative research”[all] OR qualitative stud*[all])

22. Randomised Controlled Trials

Click here to search for Randomised Controlled Trials based on the Cochrane Highly Sensitive Search Strategy (2006 revision) for finding randomised controlled trials in PubMed.

Publication Type Definition of Randomized Controlled Trials from The National Library of Medicine's MeSH Database

(randomized controlled trial[pt] OR controlled clinical trial[pt] OR randomi*[all] OR placebo*[all] OR drug therapy[sh] OR randomly[all])

23. Retrospective Studies

Click the link to search PubMed for Retrospective Studies. MeSH Definition of Retrospective Studies From the National Library of Medicine's MeSH Database.

(retrospective analys*[all] OR retrospective outcome analys*[all] OR retrospective case[all] OR retrospective cohort[all] OR retrospective evaluation*[all] OR retrospective review[all] OR retrospective stud*[all] OR retrospective observational stud*[all] OR retrospective multicentric stud*[all] OR retrospective multicentre stud*[all] OR retrospective multicenter stud*[all] OR retrospective survey*[all])

24. Seroepidemiological Studies

Click the link to search PubMed for Seroepidemiological Studies. MeSH Definition of Seroepidemiologic Studies from The National Library of Medicine's MeSH Database.

(seroepidemiological studies[mh] OR seroepidemiological stud*[all] OR seroepidemiological analys*[all] OR seroepidemiological survey*[all] OR seroprevalence*[all])

PubMed sensitive search

 (seroepidemiolog*[all] OR seroprevalen*[all])

25. Systematic Reviews

Click here to search for Systematic Reviews using PubMed's algorithm for finding systematic reviews, meta-analyses, reviews of clinical trials, evidence-based medicine, consensus development conferences, and guidelines

or add AND systematic[sb] to your topical search

Details of the PubMed's systematic reviews search.

26. Twin Studies

Search PubMed for Twin Studies. MeSH Definition of Twin Study from the National Library of Medicine's MeSH Database.

(twin study[pt] OR twin analys*[all] OR twin design*[all] OR twin research[all] OR twin stud*[all] OR twins stud*[all] OR twin survey*[all])

27. Validation Studies

Search PubMed for Validation Studies. MeSH Definition of Validation Studies from the National Library of Medicine's MeSH Database

(validation analys*[all] OR validation stud*[all] OR validation survey*[all] OR validation trial*[all])

Want to run a search that will identify specific study types in Embase?
See below a list of prepared search strategies ready to use

1. Case Control Studies
(‘case control study’/syn OR (‘case control’ OR ‘case base’ OR ‘case matched’ OR retrospective) NEXT/3 (analys* OR design* OR evaluation* OR research OR stud* OR survey* OR trial*))

2. Retrospective Case Control Studies
(‘retrospective study’/syn OR retrospective) AND (‘case control study’/syn OR (‘case control’ OR ‘case base’ OR ‘case matched’) NEXT/3 (analys* OR design* OR evaluation* OR research OR stud* OR survey* OR trial*))

3. Case Reports
(case NEXT/1 (histories OR report* OR stud*))

4. Case Series
(((case or clinical) next/4 series):ti,ab)

5. Clinical Trials
(‘clinical trial’/syn OR phase NEXT/11 trial* OR (multicentre OR multicenter) NEXT/11 (stud* OR trial*) OR ‘randomized controlled trial’/syn OR ‘randomised controlled’ NEXT/1 trial* OR random NEXT/1 allocation* OR rct*)

6. Cohort Studies
((cohort OR concurrent OR incidence OR longitudinal OR followup OR ‘follow up’ OR prospective OR retrospective) NEXT/5 (analys* OR design* OR evaluation* OR research OR stud* OR survey* OR trial*) OR ‘prospective method’ OR ‘retrospective study’/syn)

7. Comparative Studies
(comparative NEXT/1 (analys* OR design* OR evaluation* OR survey*) OR comparative NEXT/2 stud*)

8. Controlled Trials
(‘controlled clinical trial’/syn OR controlled NEXT/5 trial* OR randomised OR randomized OR placebo OR randomly OR (multicentre OR multicenter) NEXT/5 (analysis OR design* OR evaluation* OR research OR survey* OR stud* OR trial*) OR ‘randomized controlled trial’/syn OR random NEXT/1 allocation* OR rct* OR 'crossover procedure'/syn)

9. Cross-sectional Studies
('cross sectional' NEXT/5 (analys* OR design* OR evaluation* OR research OR stud* OR survey*) OR prevalence NEXT/5 (analys* OR design* OR evaluation* OR research OR stud* OR survey*))

10. Empirical Research
(empirical NEXT/1 (evaluation* OR research OR stud*) OR qualitative NEXT/1 (design* OR research OR stud*))

11. Epidemiological Studies
(epidemiologic* NEXT/1 (stud* OR survey*) OR ‘case control study’/syn OR (population OR hospital) NEXT/5 'based case control' OR ‘case control’ NEXT/3 (analys* OR design* OR evaluation* OR research OR stud* OR survey* OR trial*) OR ‘case comparison’ NEXT/5 (analys* OR stud*) OR ‘cohort analysis’/syn OR (‘case base’ OR ‘case matched’ OR ‘case referent’ OR cohort OR concurrent OR incidence OR longitudinal OR followup OR ‘follow up’ OR prospective OR retrospective OR ‘cross-sectional’ OR prevalence OR seroepidemiologic*) NEXT/1 (analys* OR design* OR evaluation* OR research OR stud* OR survey* OR trial*) OR ‘prospective method’ OR 'crossover procedure'/syn OR ‘retrospective study’/syn OR seroprevalence/syn)

(without Seroepidemiologic Studies or Seroprevalence)
(epidemiologic* NEXT/1 (stud* OR survey*) OR ‘case control study’/syn OR (population OR hospital) NEXT/5 'based case control' OR ‘case control’ NEXT/3 (analys* OR design* OR evaluation* OR research OR stud* OR survey* OR trial*) OR ‘case comparison’ NEXT/5 (analys* OR stud*) OR ‘cohort analysis’/syn OR (‘case base’ OR ‘case matched’ OR ‘case referent’ OR cohort OR concurrent OR incidence OR longitudinal OR followup OR ‘follow up’ OR prospective OR retrospective OR ‘cross-sectional’ OR prevalence) NEXT/1 (analys* OR design* OR evaluation* OR research OR stud* OR survey* OR trial*) OR ‘prospective method’ OR 'crossover procedure'/syn OR ‘retrospective study’/syn)

12. Evaluation Studies
Copy the search term below, then AND them to your topical search terms
(evaluation NEXT/1 stud*)

13. Follow-up Studies
(('follow up' OR followup) NEXT/1 evaluation* OR ‘follow up’ NEXT/8 stud* OR followup NEXT/7 stud* OR 'follow up' NEXT/8 survey* OR followup NEXT/6 survey*)

14. Health Technology Assessments
‘biomedical technology assessment’/syn OR 'technology assessments'

15. Longitudinal Studies (including Follow Up Studies, and Prospective Studies)
(longitudinal NEXT/5 (analys* OR evaluation* OR research OR stud* OR survey*))

16. Meta Analysis
(‘meta analysis’/syn OR ‘meta analyses’ OR metaanalyses)

17. Multicentre Studies
((multicentre OR multicenter OR ‘multi centre’ OR ‘multi center’) NEXT/5 (design* OR evaluation* OR research OR stud* OR survey* OR trial*))

18. Outcome Assessments
(outcome* NEXT/1 (analys* OR assessment* OR stud* OR measure* OR research))

19. Practice Guidelines
(practice NEXT/1 guideline* OR (clinical OR critical) NEXT/2 (path OR paths OR pathw* OR protocol*) OR ‘consensus development’/syn)

20. Prospective Studies
(prospective NEXT/1 (analys* OR evaluation* OR method OR stud* OR survey*))

21. Qualitative Research
(qualitative NEXT/1 (design* OR research OR stud*))

22. Randomised Controlled Trials
(('randomized controlled trial'/syn OR randomi* NEXT/10 controlled OR randomization/syn OR ‘random allocation’ OR ‘double blind procedure’/syn OR (single OR double OR tripl* OR trebl*) NEXT/1 (blind* OR mask*) OR ‘clinical trial’/syn OR ‘clinical trials’ OR ‘multicenter study’/syn OR (multicentre OR multicenter) NEXT/1 stud* OR randomly:ti,ab OR trial:ti,ab OR groups:ti,ab) NOT (animal/syn NOT human/syn))

23. Retrospective Studies
(‘retrospective study’/syn OR retrospective NEXT/2 (analys* OR evaluation* OR research OR survey* OR trial*))

24. Seroepidemiological Studies
(seroepidemiologic* NEXT/1 (analys* OR evaluation* OR research OR stud* OR survey*) OR seroprevalence*)

25. Systematic Reviews
systematic NEXT/1 review*

26. Twin Studies
(twin NEXT/1 (analys* OR design* OR research OR stud* OR survey*) NOT ((animal/syn OR plant/syn) NOT human/syn))

 

Note 1
For both the Embase and DOSS searches I set the number after next and n at a particular number (1, 2, 5 etc). To vary the number of citations retrieved you can change this number. Increasing the number will find more citations but also increase the chances of finding some inappropriate citations.
Alternatively remove all the italicised terms highlighted in grey from the search to significantly increase the number of citations found.

Note 2
For both the Embase and DOSS searches I set the number after next and n at a particular number (0, 1, 2, 5 etc). To vary the number of citations retrieved you can change this number. Increasing the number will find more citations but also increase the chances of finding some inappropriate citations.

Want to run a search that will identify specific study types in Ovid Medline?
See below a list of prepared search strategies ready to use

1. Case Control Studies

((case control or case base or case matched or retrospective) adj3 (analys$ or design$ or evaluation$ or research or stud$ or survey$ or trial$)).mp.

Ovid Medline Sensitive Search

(case control or case base or case matched or retrospective).mp.

2. Retrospective Case Control Studies

(retrospective and ((case control or case base or case matched) adj3 (analys$ or design$ or evaluation$ or research or stud$ or survey$ or trial$))).mp.

Ovid Medline Sensitive version

(retrospective and (case control or case base or case matched)).mp.

3. Case Reports
(case reports/ OR case report$.mp. OR case stud$.mp. OR case histories.mp.)

4. Case Series
((case or clinical) adj2 series).mp.

5. Clinical Trials
((phase or multicent$) adj10 (trial$ or stud$).mp. OR exp clinical trial/ OR clinical trial$.mp. OR randomized controlled trial$.mp. OR randomised controlled trial$.mp. OR random allocation$.mp. OR rct.mp. OR rcts.mp.)

6. Cohort Studies
((cohort or concurrent or longitudinal or follow up or followup or prospective or retrospective) adj5 (analys$ or design$ or evaluation$ or research or stud$ or survey)).mp. OR (incidence adj1 (analys$ or research or stud$ or survey)).mp.

7. Comparative Studies
(comparative adj1 (analys$ or design$ or evaluation$ or study or studies or survey$)).mp.

8. Controlled Trials

((randomized controlled trial or controlled clinical trial or multicenter study).pt. or randomized.ab,ti. or randomised.ab,ti. or rct.mp. or rcts.mp. or placebo.mp. or drug therapy.fs. or randomly.mp. or random allocation$.mp.  or pragmatic clinical trial$.mp. or ((controlled or multicent or crossover or cross over) adj5 (analys$ or design$ or evaluation$ or research or stud$ or trial$)).mp.

Ovid Medline Sensitive Search

((randomized controlled trial or controlled clinical trial or multicenter study).pt. or (randomized or randomised).ab,ti. or drug therapy.fs. or (placebo or randomly or random allocation$ or controlled or multicent$ or crossover or cross over).mp.)

9. Cross Sectional Studies

((cross sectional adj4 analys$) or (cross sectional adj4 design$) or (cross sectional adj4 evaluation$) or (cross sectional adj4 research) or (cross sectional adj4 survey$) or (cross sectional adj4 stud$) or (crosssectional adj4 analys$) or (crosssectional adj4 design$) or (crosssectional adj4 evaluation$) or (crosssectional adj4 research) or (crosssectional adj4 survey$) or (crosssectional adj4 study) or (crosssectional adj4 studies) or prevalence research or prevalence stud$ or prevalence survey$).mp.

Ovid Medline Sensitive Search

(cross sectional or crosssectional or prevalence research or prevalence stud* or prevalence survey*).mp.

10. Empirical Research
((empirical or qualitative) adj2 (design$ or evaluation$ or research or stud$)).mp.

11. Epidemiological Studies

(exp epidemiologic studies/ or (epidemiologic$ adj3 stud$).mp. or (epidemiologic$ adj3 survey$).mp. or (case control adj1 analys$).mp. or (case control adj3 evaluation$).mp. or (case control adj3 stud$).mp. or (case control adj3 survey$).mp. or (case comparison adj3 analys$).mp. or (case comparison adj3 stud$).mp. or (case referent adj3 analys$).mp. or (case referent adj3 stud$).mp. or (case referent adj3 survey$).mp. or (case base$ adj3 analys$).mp. or (case base$ adj3 stud$).mp. or (case matched adj3 analys$).mp. or (case matched adj3 stud$).mp. or (cohort adj3 analys$).mp. or (cohort adj3 evaluation$).mp. or (cohort adj1 stud$).mp. or (cohort adj3 survey$).mp. or (concurrent adj3 stud$).mp. or (concurrent adj3 survey$).mp. or (incidence adj1 analys$).mp. or (incidence adj1 stud$).mp. or (incidence adj1 survey$).mp. or (longitudinal adj3 analys$).mp. or (longitudinal adj3 evaluation$).mp. or (longitudinal adj3 studies).mp. or (longitudinal adj3 study).mp. or (longitudinal adj3 survey$).mp. or follow up evaluation$.mp. or followup evaluation$.mp. or followup stud$.mp. or follow up stud$.mp. or followup survey$.mp. or follow up survey$.mp. or prospective analys$.mp. or prospective evaluation$.mp. or (prospective adj5 stud$).mp. or (prospective adj5 survey$).mp. or retrospective analys$.mp. or retrospective evaluation$.mp. or retrospective stud$.mp. or retrospective survey$.mp. or cross-over studies/ or (crossover adj5 stud$).mp. or (cross over adj5 stud$).mp. or (crossover adj5 design$).mp. or (cross over adj5 design$).mp. or (cross over adj5 procedure$).mp. or (crossover adj5 procedure$).mp. or (cross sectional adj5 studies).mp. or (cross sectional adj5 study).mp. or (crosssectional adj5 study).mp. or (cross sectional adj4 analys$).mp. or (crosssectional adj5 survey$).mp. or (cross sectional adj4 survey$).mp. or prevalence analys$.mp. or prevalence stud$.mp. or seroepidemiologic$ analys$.mp. or seroepidemiologic$ stud$.mp. or seroepidemiologic$ analys$.mp. or seroepidemiologic$ survey$.mp. or seroprevalence$.mp.)

Ovid Medline Epidemiological Studies without Seroepidemiologic Studies or Seroprevalence

(exp epidemiologic studies/ or (epidemiologic$ adj3 stud$).mp. or (epidemiologic$ adj3 survey$).mp. or (case control adj1 analys$).mp. or (case control adj3 evaluation$).mp. or (case control adj3 stud$).mp. or (case control adj3 survey$).mp. or (case comparison adj3 analys$).mp. or (case comparison adj3 stud$).mp. or (case referent adj3 analys$).mp. or (case referent adj3 stud$).mp. or (case referent adj3 survey$).mp. or (case base$ adj3 analys$).mp. or (case base$ adj3 stud$).mp. or (case matched adj3 analys$).mp. or (case matched adj3 stud$).mp. or (cohort adj3 analys$).mp. or (cohort adj3 evaluation$).mp. or (cohort adj1 stud$).mp. or (cohort adj3 survey$).mp. or (concurrent adj3 stud$).mp. or (concurrent adj3 survey$).mp. or (incidence adj1 analys$).mp. or (incidence adj1 stud$).mp. or (incidence adj1 survey$).mp. or (longitudinal adj3 analys$).mp. or (longitudinal adj3 evaluation$).mp. or (longitudinal adj3 studies).mp. or (longitudinal adj3 study).mp. or (longitudinal adj3 survey$).mp. or follow up evaluation$.mp. or followup evaluation$.mp. or followup stud$.mp. or follow up stud$.mp. or followup survey$.mp. or follow up survey$.mp. or prospective analys$.mp. or prospective evaluation$.mp. or (prospective adj5 stud$).mp. or (prospective adj5 survey$).mp. or retrospective analys$.mp. or retrospective evaluation$.mp. or retrospective stud$.mp. or retrospective survey$.mp. or cross-over studies/ or (crossover adj5 stud$).mp. or (cross over adj5 stud$).mp. or (crossover adj5 design$).mp. or (cross over adj5 design$).mp. or (cross over adj5 procedure$).mp. or (crossover adj5 procedure$).mp. or (cross sectional adj5 studies).mp. or (cross sectional adj5 study).mp. or (crosssectional adj5 study).mp. or (cross sectional adj4 analys$).mp. or (crosssectional adj5 survey$).mp. or (cross sectional adj4 survey$).mp. or prevalence analys$.mp. or prevalence stud$.mp.)

12. Evaluation Studies
evaluation stud$.mp.

13. Follow-Up Studies

((follow up evaluation* OR follow up adj8 stud* OR followup adj7 stud* OR follow up adj8 survey* OR followup adj6 survey*).mp.)

Ovid Medline Sensitive Search

((follow up or followup).mp.)

14. Health Technology Assessments
(exp technology assessment, biomedical/ or technology assessment$.mp.)

15. Longitudinal Studies (including Follow Up Studies, and Prospective Studies)

(longitudinal or prospective) adj6 (analys$ or design$ or evaluation$ or research or stud$ or survey$).mp. or (follow up or followup) adj1 research.mp. or (follow up or followup) adj3 (design$ or survey$).mp. or (follow up or followup) adj4 (analys$ or stud$).mp.

Ovid Medline Sensitive Search

longitudinal.mp. or prospective.mp. or (follow up or followup) adj6 (analys$ or design$ or evaluation$ or research or stud$ or survey$).mp.

16. Meta Analysis
(metaanalys$ or meta analys$).mp.

17. Multicentre Studies

(((multicentre or multicenter) adj4 analys$) or ((multicentre or multicenter) adj3 (design$ or evaluation$ or research)) or ((multicentre or multicenter) adj10 stud$) or ((multicentre or multicenter) adj6 survey$)).mp.

Ovid Medline Sensitive Search

(multicentre or multicenter).mp.

18. Outcome Assessments
exp "Outcome Assessment (Health Care)"/ or ((outcome$ or treatment$ or rehabilitation) adj1 (analys$ or assessment$ or measure$ or research or treatment$ or effectiveness or efficac$ or failure$)).mp. or (clinical adj1 (effectiveness or efficac$)).mp.

19. Practice Guidelines

(practice guideline.pt. or clinical guideline$ or clinical path or clinical paths or clinical pathw$ or clinical care pathw$ or clinical protocol$ or critical path or critical paths or critical pathw$ or critical care pathw$* or consensus development$ or treatment guideline$ or best practice$ or guideline development or evidence based guideline$).mp.

Ovid Medline Very Sensitive Search

guideline$.mp.

20. Prospective Studies
(prospective analys$ or prospective design$).mp. or (prospective adj5 assessment$).mp. or (prospective adj6 evaluation$).mp. or (prospective adj3 investigation$).mp. or (prospective adj3 measure*).mp. or (prospective adj3 protocol*).mp. or (prospective adj3 research).mp. or (prospective adj8 stud*).mp. or (prospective adj3 survey*).mp. or (prospective adj10 trial*).mp.

21. Qualitative Research
exp qualitative research/ or (qualitative adj6 research).mp. or (qualitative adj5 analys*).mp. or (qualitative adj6 design*).mp. or (qualitative adj5 stud*).mp.

22. Randomised Controlled Trials
((randomized controlled trial or controlled clinical trial).pt. or (randomi* or placebo* or randomly).mp. or drug therapy.fs.)

23. Retrospective Studies
((retrospective adj7 stud*) or (retrospective adj5 analys*) or (retrospective adj3 case) or (retrospective adj3 cohort) or (retrospective adj5 evaluation*) or (retrospective adj3 review*) or (retrospective adj6 survey*)).mp.

24. Seroepidemiological Studies

exp seroepidemiologic studies/ or ((seroepidemiolog* adj4 stud*) or (seroepidemiolog* adj5 analys*) or (seroepidemiolog* adj1 investigation*) or (seroepidemiolog* adj5 survey*)).mp.

Ovid Medline Sensitive Search

((seroepidemiolog* or seroprevalen*).mp.)

25. Systematic Reviews
(((systematic review OR meta-analy* OR metaanaly* OR systematic literature review OR meta synthesis OR metasynthesis OR unpublished OR citation* or references OR scales OR papers OR datasets OR rapid review OR evidence synthesis).mp. OR (integrative adj2 review*).mp. OR (consensus development conference).pt) AND ((literature OR articles OR publications OR publication OR bibliography OR published OR database* OR trials OR internet OR textbooks).ab,ti. OR (clinical .ab,ti. AND studies .ab,ti.) OR treatment outcome*.mp.) NOT (letter OR newspaper article).pt.)

26. Twin Studies
(((twin adj5 (analys* or design* or research or survey*)) or (twin* adj5 stud*)).mp.)

27. Validation Studies
((validation adj6 stud*) or (validation adj6 analys*) or (validation adj6 survey*) or (validation adj8 trial*).mp.)

Want to run a search that will identify specific study types in Dentistry & Oral Sciences Source?
See below a list of prepared search strategies ready to use

 

1. Case Control Studies
((TX "case base" OR TX "case-control" OR TX "case comparison" OR TX "case matched" OR TX "case referent" OR TX retrospective) n3 (analys* OR evaluation* OR method OR stud* OR survey*))

2. Retrospective Case Control Studies
((TX "case base" OR TX "case-control" OR TX "case comparison" OR TX "case matched" OR TX "case referent") n3 (analys* OR evaluation* OR method OR stud* OR survey*) AND TX retrospective)

3. Case Reports
(TX case n0 (histories OR report* OR stud*))

4. Case Series
(TI (case or clinical) n4 series  OR AB (case or clinical) n4 series)

5. Clinical Trials
(TX phase n10 trial* OR (TX clinical OR TX multicent* OR TX “multi cent*”) n10 (procedure* OR trial*) OR (TX “randomised controlled” OR TX “randomized controlled”) n10 trial* OR TX “random allocation*” OR TX rct)

6. Cohort Studies
((TX cohort OR TX concurrent OR TX incidence OR TX longitudinal OR TX followup OR TX “follow up” OR TX prospective OR TX retrospective) n4 (analys* OR design* OR evaluation* OR research OR stud* OR survey* OR trial*) OR TX “prospective method” OR TX “longitudinal method*”)

7. Comparative Studies
(TX comparative n1 (analys* OR design* OR evaluation* OR study OR survey*))

8. Controlled Trials
(TX “clinical trial*” OR TX “controlled trial*” OR TX randomized OR TX randomised OR TX randomly OR TX “crossover trial*” OR TX “cross over trial*” OR (TX multicent* OR TX ”multi cent*”) n4 (design* OR evaluation* OR research OR stud* OR survey* OR trial*) OR (TI multicent* OR TI ”multi cent*”) n6 (design* OR evaluation* OR research OR stud* OR survey* OR trial*))

9. Cross Sectional Studies
Copy the search terms below, then AND them to your topical search terms
(TX “cross sectional” n5 (analys* OR design* OR evaluation* OR method OR research OR stud* OR survey*) OR TX prevalence n5 (analys* OR design* OR evaluation* OR method OR research OR stud* OR survey*))

10. Empirical Research
(TX empirical n0 (evaluation* OR method* OR research OR stud*) OR TX qualitative n0 (analys* OR design* OR Method* OR research OR stud*))

11. Epidemiological Studies
(TX epidemiologic* n0 stud* OR TX case n0 (control OR comparison OR referent OR base OR matched) n0 (analys* OR evaluation* OR method* OR stud* OR survey*) OR (cohort OR incidence OR concurrent OR longitudinal OR followup OR “follow up” OR prospective OR retrospective OR crossover OR "cross over" OR “cross sectional” OR prevalence OR seroepidemiologic*) n0 (analys* OR evaluation* OR procedure* OR stud* OR survey*) OR seroprevalence*)

DOSS without seroepidemiologic* OR seroprevalence
(TX epidemiologic* n0 stud* OR TX case n0 (control OR comparison OR referent OR base OR matched) n0 (analys* OR evaluation* OR method* OR stud* OR survey*) OR (cohort OR incidence OR concurrent OR longitudinal OR followup OR “follow up” OR prospective OR retrospective OR “cross sectional” OR prevalence) n0 (analys* OR evaluation* OR stud* OR survey*))

12. Evaluation Studies
Copy the search terms below, then AND them to your topical search terms
(TX "evaluation studies" OR TX "evaluation study")

13. Follow-Up Studies
((TX “follow up” OR TX followup) n1 (analys* OR evaluation*OR research OR stud* OR survey*) OR DE "FOLLOW-up studies (Medicine)")

14. Health Technology Assessments
TX "technology assessment*"

15. Longitudinal Studies (including Follow Up Studies, and Prospective Studies)
(TX longitudinal OR TX “follow up” OR TX followup OR TX prospective) n5 (analys* OR evaluation* OR research OR stud* OR survey*) OR TX “longitudinal method”

16. Meta Analysis
(TX “meta analys*” OR TX metanalys*)

17. Multicentre Studies
((TX multicent* OR TX ”multi cent*”) n4 (design* OR evaluation* OR research OR stud* OR survey* OR trial*) OR (TI multicent* OR TI ”multi cent*”) n6 (design* OR evaluation* OR research OR stud* OR survey* OR trial*))

18. Outcome Assessments

(TX outcome* n0 (analys* OR assessment* OR evaluation* OR stud* OR measure* OR research) OR DE "OUTCOME assessment (Medical care)")

See Note 2 below for more comprehensive searches.

19. Practice Guidelines

(TX practice n0 guideline* OR (TX clinical OR TX critical) n1 (path OR paths OR pathw*))

See Note 2 below for more comprehensive searches.

20. Prospective Studies
DOSS considers Prospective Studies to be equivalent to Longitudinal Studies, but here is a search to find Prospective studies in articles in DOSS.

(TX prospective n0 (analys* OR evaluation* OR method OR stud* OR survey*))

For more comprehensive searches see Note 1 below.

21. Qualitative Research

DOSS
(TX qualitative n0 (analys* OR design* OR method* OR research OR stud*))

See Note 2 below for more comprehensive searches.

22. Randomised Controlled Trials

((TX randomi* W10 controlled OR TX “controlled trial*” OR TX randomi?ed OR TX randomi?ation OR TX randomly OR TX "random allocation*" OR (TX single OR TX double OR TX tripl* OR TX trebl*) w1 (blind* OR mask*) OR TX "clinical trial*" OR TX "crossover trial*" OR (TX multicent* OR TX "multi cent*”) n1( stud* OR trial*) OR TX groups) NOT (DE animals NOT DE “human beings”))

See Note 2 below for more comprehensive searches.

23. Retrospective Studies

(TX retrospective n3 (analys* OR evaluation* OR research OR survey* OR trial*))

See Note 2 below for more comprehensive searches

24. Systematic Reviews
TX systematic n0 review*

26. Twin Studies

TX twin n0 (analys* OR design* OR research OR stud* OR survey*)

See Note 2 below for more comprehensive searches.

27. Validation Studies
(TX validation n0 (analys* OR stud* OR survey* OR trial*))

For more comprehensive searches see Note 1 below.

 

Note 1
For both the Embase and DOSS searches I set the number after next and n at a particular number (1, 2, 5 etc). To vary the number of citations retrieved you can change this number. Increasing the number will find more citations but also increase the chances of finding some inappropriate citations.
Alternatively remove all the italicised terms highlighted in grey from the search to significantly increase the number of citations found.

Note 2
For both the Embase and DOSS searches I set the number after next and n at a particular number (0, 1, 2, 5 etc). To vary the number of citations retrieved you can change this number. Increasing the number will find more citations but also increase the chances of finding some inappropriate citations.