Medieval history

The Oxford Handbook of Women and Gender in Medieval Europe provides a comprehensive overview of the gender rules encountered in Europe in the period between approximately 500 and 1500 C.E.

Focusing on women from Western Europe between c. 300 and 1500 CE in the medieval period.

Investigates sex and related topics such as courtship, concubinage, divorce, marriage, prostitution, and child rearing.

This reference is a comprehensive guide to literature written between 500 and 1500.

Addresses various aspects of medieval life that affected women's writing. These include the nature of authorship in the period, the position of women at home or in nunneries, and their relationship to religion.

Essays on the origins of romance in French and English courts are complemented by articles that trace the transmission and evolution of these stories throughout Europe.

A guide to the broad range of terms used in the study of the history of Christian art and architecture, including themes, artists, and movements.

This book tells the history of Christian art, exploring the purpose behind the masterpieces and looking at the context in which they were created.

This annotated bibliography will help researchers to accurately interpret motifs in medieval art and literature.

Answers to how various mythological, Biblical, and literary themes have been treated in literature, art, music, and the performing arts can be found in this work.

Provides easily accessible factual material on all major areas of warfare in the medieval west.

Examines all aspects of warfare and military technology in medieval times and provides an exhaustive and accurate view of how and why wars were waged throughout Europe, the Byzantine Empire, and the Crusader States from circa 500 CE to circa 1500.

Surveys all aspects of the crusading movement from its origins in the 11th century to its decline in the 16th century.

This work examines the development and growth of chivalry and knighthood in the medieval age.

Examines the period in military technology, competing theologies, and civilizational change that were brought about by, or impinged upon, military conflict.

Chronicles Christendom's Holy Wars, charting the entire 700-year history of the Crusades with text, illustrations, and maps.

Examines key people, events, and terms relating to the series of conflicts between France and England in the 14th and 15th centuries that later came to be known as the Hundred Years War.

A major survey of Old Norse-Icelandic literature and culture.

Examines all aspects of Viking society, including its history, laws and customs, industry, and arts and literature.

Deals with the history of Scandinavia from the Viking Age to the end of the Scandinavian Middle Ages (c. 1520).

Covers the whole Viking world: their history, society and culture, and their expansion overseas for trade, colonization and plunder.

A handbook to central European history from 800 to 1806.

Reference work on the history and culture of medieval France, covering the political, intellectual, literary, and musical history of the country from the early fifth century to the late 15th.

Lays out guidelines, methods, and basic reference tools for research and writing in the fields of church history and historical theology.

A reference work, with entries on the most important and influential theologians in the history of Christianity.

This visual survey examines the traditions, values, cultures, and developments that have made Christianity what it is today.

Provides authoritative cross-referenced A-Z entries covering all aspects of the subject.

This Companion explores the life of Francis of Assisi and his enduring legacy throughout the centuries. The first part concentrates on his life and works whilst the second explores the way in which his heritage influenced the apostolic activities of his followers in the century following his death.

Presents an encyclopedic treatment of the life, thought, and influence of Augustine of Hippo (AD 354-430).

Examines Clare's history and hagiography and offers critical translations and literary analyses of her Forma Vitae and her four letters to Agnes of Prague.

Examines the various heretic movements and individuals throughout Christian history, from the time of Christ's crucifixion to the 16th century.

An interdisciplinary reference work, giving wide coverage of the role of travel in medieval religious life. Dealing with the period 300-1500 A.D.

Offers an analysis of the term mendicancy and an introduction to the phenomenon of religious mendicancy in the central and later middle ages.