Primary sources for history

Primary sources across time periods and countries

Medieval history

Medieval family life: the Paston, Cely, Plumpton, Stonor and Armburgh papers. This link opens in a new window
Full-color images of the original medieval manuscripts that comprise the Paston, Cely, Plumpton, Stonor, and Armburgh family letter collections, along with full-text searchable transcripts from printed editions. Also includes family trees, chronology, a map, and a glossary.
Manchester Medieval Sources Online This link opens in a new window
A collection of ebooks which contain translations of original medieval sources with introductory and explanatory material. Each volume includes a guide to the sources' interpretation, including discussion of critical linguistic problems and an assessment of recent research.
British History Online This link opens in a new window
British History Online is a digital library of key printed primary and secondary sources for the history of Britain and Ireland, with a primary focus on the period between 1300 and 1800
Early English books online EEBO This link opens in a new window
Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700.
Archives unbound This link opens in a new window
Particular strengths include U.S. foreign policy; U.S. civil rights; global affairs and colonial studies; and modern history. Broad topic clusters include: African American studies; American Indian studies; Asian studies; British history; Holocaust studies; LGBT studies; Latin American and Caribbean studies; Middle East studies; political science; religious studies; and women’s studies.

Medieval England and France, 700–1200
This curated selection explores medieval manuscripts that were digitised as part of The Polonsky Foundation England and France Project: Manuscripts from the British Library and the Bibliothèque nationale de France, 700–1200.
Medieval Digital Resources
From Medieval Academy of America (MAA)
A curated database of peer-reviewed digital materials for the study of the Middle Ages.
Internet Medieval Sourcebook
Use sidebar to find Crusades, Medieval Church, Sex & Gender and other topics.
Medieval Manuscripts on the Web
Lists links to various manuscript digitisation projects on the web.
British Library Digitised Manuscripts
View digitised copies of manuscripts and archives in the British Library’s collections, with descriptions of their contents
De Re Militari
Begun in 1992, is the Society for the Study of Medieval Military History - primary sources, articles, dissertations, and resources for the study of military actions, technology, and topics from the fall of Rome to early seventeenth century.
European History Primary Sources
Site that compiles links to scholarly websites that contain digitised primary sources on Medieval Europe. Go to the "Help" link to learn how to search on this database.
Domesday Book
Hosted by the UK National Archives, Domesday is Britain’s earliest public record. It contains the results of a huge survey of land and landholding commissioned by William I in 1085. Domesday is an extensive record of pre-industrial society and provides a unique window on the medieval world.

This collection of texts, most of them translated for the first time, which illuminate the history of the crusades and the crusader-states from every angle, including that of their principal adversaries, the Muslim powers of the Middle East.

Crusade texts in tranlation

Last Updated: Dec 22, 2023 10:49 AM
URL: https://libguides.adelaide.edu.au/primarysourceshistory
Print Page

Subjects: History (Primary sources)

Tags: history, primary sources