Sciences

This guide contains resources from the University Library to help with your study and support your research in the Sciences.

Biology 1: Organisms / Human Perspectives

Biology 1: Organisms and Biology 1: Human Perspectives

From the marking rubric:
"Statements are supported with appropriately cited authoritative primary references. More than one reference is cited to support key points, which adds strength and authority to the argument.
The reference list is complete and correctly formatted, so the reader can easily check the sources."

Authoritative: Students need to use peer reviewed (refereed) scientific literature.

Primary references: This means journal articles (not books, textbooks, websites)

Other useful databases for locating journal articles, and how to search in them:

Search effectively

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a core multidisciplinary database, the largest abstracts database of peer-reviewed literature including journals, books and conference proceedings. It also offers citation analysis/bibliometrics for authors and articles. Coverage mostly from 1960.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources. Searching through the University library allows results to be linked to the full text collections of the library.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed covers biomedical literature with links to free full-text. This customised version of PubMed for the University of Adelaide allows access to the University's online full-text journal articles.
This version is therefore accessible only to University of Adelaide staff and students.

Reference list: You need to use both in-text references and a bibliography.

Interactive Harvard UofA guide
An interactive guide to using Harvard UofA, with descriptions and examples of common item types.
Quick Referencing Tips and Other Style Guides
Information about the tools that can help you create your reference list quickly and easily, as well as support for other style guides.

Harvard Referencing Guide
A print version of the Harvard UofA guide to help you complete your in-text references and your reference list for your essay.