Nursing

This guide contains resources from the University Library to support your study and research in Nursing.

Key resources

Below are links to the key databases for Nursing. Click on the Searching health databases tab (above left) for help with using them effectively.

CINAHL ultimate This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for the top nursing and allied health literature available.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
The major database of biomedical literature (has a U.S. focus)

Interactive Learning Tools

AccessMedicine (ACM) This link opens in a new window
View the Multimedia section for Human anatomy modules, patient safety modules and more. Also includes case studies and study tools to test your knowledge.

BMJ Learning
Hundreds of interactive, peer reviewed learning modules, written by experts from BMJ.
One time individual registration is required.

Introduction to Advanced Searching MyUni course

Our Introduction to Advanced Searching MyUni course teaches you how to develop and refine advanced search techniques and includes step-by-step guidance for creating search strategies and logic grids for Nursing databases including CINAHL and PubMed. We strongly recommend you enrol in this course and refer back to it throughout your studies.

Introduction to Advanced Searching MyUni course

Key Clinical Resources

Click on the icons to find current evidence based information that will help you answer the kind of clinical questions which arise in daily practice.

Drug Resources:

Point of Care Tools (treatment and best practice) & Therapeutic Guidelines:

UpToDate has been updated to allow on-campus and off-campus access for staff and students. Use the instructions in the guide below to register for an account.

UpToDate access instructions
Individual registration is required for access. Use this QRG for instructions on how to register for an account, download the mobile app, and log in to the mobile app using OpenAthens.