PubMed covers biomedical literature with links to free full-text. This customised version of PubMed for the University of Adelaide allows access to the University's online full-text journal articles.
This version is therefore accessible only to University of Adelaide staff and students.
Scopus is a core multidisciplinary database, the largest abstracts database of peer-reviewed literature including journals, books and conference proceedings. It also offers citation analysis/bibliometrics for authors and articles. Coverage mostly from 1960.
A core platform of multidisciplinary and scientific abstracts databases, including Web of Science Core Collection, Biosis Citation Index, CAB Abstracts and Global Health, Current Contents Connect, Medline, Russian Citation Index, SciELO Citation Index and Zoological Record. Can search all databases simultaneously and also access Journal Citation Reports (impact factors), Essential Science Indicators, InCites, Publons, Kopernio and EndNote from this Clarivate Analytics platform.
All aspects of aquaculture, including marine, freshwater and brackish water resources and environments, the biology and ecology of aquatic organisms and legal, policy and socioeconomic issues. Coverage: 1971-current
From the use of animals in experiments to develop medicine for people to the preservation of endangered species in zoos, human beings' responsibility to and for their fellow animals has become an increasingly controversial subject. This book, which Jane Goodall in her foreword calls unique, informative, and exciting, provides a provocative overview of the many different perspectives on the issues of animal rights and animal welfare in an easy-to-use encyclopedic format. Students, teachers, and interested readers can explore the ideas of well-known philosophers, biologists, and psychologists in this field, such as Peter Singer, Tom Regan, and over 125 others, all of whom have contributed original entries. Bekoff has provided a wide variety of well-chosen entries, defining terms and concepts and providing brief biographies, all of which relate to the topics of animal rights and animal welfare from the perspectives of many different disciplines: philosophy, psychology, ethology, anthropology, ecology, sociology, education, law, history, politics, theology, veterinary science, and public administration. The multidisciplinary approach allows users to critically examine the varied angles and arguments and gain a better understanding of the history and development of animal rights and animal protectionist movements worldwide.
The second edition of this extensive work is the definitive source on issues pertaining to the full range of topics in the important area of food and agricultural ethics. Altogether about 100 new entries appear in this new edition. The start of the 21st century has seen intensified debate, discussion, and criticism of food and agriculture. Scholars, activists, and citizens increasingly question the goals and ethical rationale behind production, distribution and consumption of food, and the use of crops for fuel and fiber. These wide-ranging debates encompass questions in human nutrition, animal rights, and the environmental impacts of agricultural production. The encyclopedia provides a detailed analysis of these issues and hundreds of other topics including the use of antibiotics in animal feedlots, the Green Revolution, organic farming, Islam and Food, and cannibalism.The Encyclopedia of Food and Agricultural Ethics, 2nd edition is an indispensable reference point for future research and writing on topics in agriculture, food, animal, and eating ethics.
Some useful subject searches in Library Search to find books and journal articles: