Animal & Veterinary Sciences

This guide contains resources from the University Library to support your study and research in Animal & Veterinary Sciences.

Evidence Based Veterinary Medicine

The practise of Evidence-Based Veterinary Medicine (EBVM) is the use of best available scientific evidence, in conjunction with clinical expertise and consideration of owner and patient factors, to make the best clinical decisions for patients.
EVBM Network 2015, ABCs of EVBM, RCVS Knowledge, London, UK, <http://www.ebvmlearning.org/>

Key EVBM resources

General resources

EBVM toolkit
Designed to help veterinary practitioners answer a clinical question with the best available evidence. RCVS Knowledge

Databases

CAB Abstracts This link opens in a new window
CAB Abstracts is a database for agricultural and environmental sciences. Its coverage of the applied life sciences includes veterinary science, applied economics, leisure, tourism, and nutrition.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Pubmed covers biomedical literature. This customised version of PubMed for the University of Adelaide allows access to the University's online full-text journal articles.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a core multidisciplinary database, the largest abstracts database of peer-reviewed literature including journals, books and conference proceedings. It also offers citation analysis/bibliometrics for authors and articles. Coverage mostly from 1960.

Summaries of the available evidence on a clinical topic

BestBETS for Vets
The Centre for Evidence-based Veterinary Medicine at Nottingham University, UK offers a freely accessible database of Best Evidence Topics (BETS).
VetSRev - a database of veterinary systematic reviews
A freely-accessible online database of citations for systematic reviews of relevance to veterinary medicine and science.

The first step in searching for literature is to define your question, phrasing it in a way that it will help you find all relevant articles and reduce the chance of you leaving anything important out. One way of identifying the key concepts is to use the PICO Method:

Patient or Population and Problem
Intervention or Indicator
Comparison or Control (not part of all questions)
Outcome

pico.vet
PICO.vet is designed to help veterinary clinicians, researchers, librarians and others build a well-structured and focused clinical question that interactively searches the biomedical literature. Search terms are refined to support veterinary medicine

CAB Abstracts This link opens in a new window
CAB Abstracts is a database for agricultural and environmental sciences. Its coverage of the applied life sciences includes veterinary science, applied economics, leisure, tourism, and nutrition.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed covers biomedical literature with links to free full-text. This customised version of PubMed for the University of Adelaide allows access to the University's online full-text journal articles.

PubMed Clinical Queries
A specialised search, intended for clinicians, which has built-in search "filters" for detecting clinically sound studies in Medline.

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a core multidisciplinary database, the largest abstracts database of peer-reviewed literature including journals, books and conference proceedings. It also offers citation analysis/bibliometrics for authors and articles. Coverage mostly from 1960.

EBVM Learning
This tutorial introduces the concepts of Evidence-based Veterinary Medicine (EBVM), and aims to give you a foundation from which you can start to apply EBVM to your own veterinary work. RCVS Knowledge.
Searching veterinary topics in PubMed
Guide from Texas A&M University Libraries