Engineering, Computer & Mathematical Sciences

This guide contains resources from the University Library to help with your study and support your research in Engineering, Computer & Mathematical Sciences

Key resources

All disciplines

Library Search
Use Library Search to find books (print and electronic), journal articles, newspapers and other items available via the library.

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a core multidisciplinary database, the largest abstracts database of peer-reviewed literature including journals, books and conference proceedings. It also offers citation analysis/bibliometrics for authors and articles. Coverage mostly from 1960.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A core multidisciplinary database, this indexes a wide range of journal articles and conference papers in all fields from 1900. It also offers citation analysis/bibliometrics for authors and articles.

Computer Science

ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Full text of every article ever published by ACM and bibliographic citations from major publishers in computing. After doing a search for ACM articles, you can expand your search to The ACM Guide to Computing Literature (Bibliographic citations from major publishers in computing).

Engineering

Compendex This link opens in a new window
Compendex is the most comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research available, covering all engineering disciplines. It includes millions of bibliographic citations and abstracts from thousands of engineering journals and conference proceedings.
AccessEngineering This link opens in a new window
Access to over 700 e-books from all disciplines of engineering, including the latest editions of titles such as Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers, Perry's Chemical Engineers Handbook, Standard Handbook for Electrical Engineers, Roark's Formulas for Stress and Strain, and Schaum's Outlines, plus interactive case studies and solution walkthroughs, engineering calculators, and a data visualisation tool.
INSPEC This link opens in a new window
Inspec is an A&I database published by the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET). The predecessor of IET is the well-known global academic institution, the Institute of Electrical Engineers (IEE). IET currently has over 168,000 members in more than 150 countries.
Inspec is one of the most important and frequently used A&I databases evolved from the prestigious "Science Abstract" (SA, Science Abstract), started in 1898. It covers the fields of Physical Sciences and Astronomy, most areas of Engineering (including E&E, marine, nuclear, biomedical, transportation) as well as computing and IT. The contents are sourced from more than 4,500 scientific journals published in more than 100 countries, more than 3,000 conference proceedings, and a large numbers of reference books, patents and videos. It has over 20 million records dated since 1898 with all the contents being carefully selected to reflect the quality of the Database. Based on the individual identification and disclosure of the article, the unique Inspec thesaurus, including more than 20,000 control words and non-control words, together with the entire field of physics and engineering which has been deeply refined in 5 levels, with a total of 3,600 sub-disciplines guarantee the most professional and comprehensive search result and for users to know more on their search topics
Realizing chemical retrieval, numerical retrieval, astrophysical identifier retrieval, etc., to ensure accurate retrieval, and international patent classification to associate papers with future patent development.
Knovel This link opens in a new window
Knovel contains engineering data and technical references to solve engineering problems. The tools within Knovel include the Material Property Search to find the properties of a material or materials which have certain properties, the Interactive Equations to find, edit and create equation worksheets, and several Steam Calculators to quickly and easily identify thermodynamic properties of water and steam.

Mathematical Sciences

MathSciNet This link opens in a new window
Reviews and citations to the world’s research literature in mathematics and related areas compiled from mathematical reviews and current mathematical publications, 1940-

Introduction to Advanced Searching MyUni course

Our Introduction to Advanced Searching MyUni course teaches you how to develop and refine advanced search techniques and includes step-by-step guidance for creating search strategies and logic grids for Engineering, Computer and Mathematical Sciences databases including Engineering Village and Scopus. We strongly recommend you enrol in this course and refer back to it throughout your studies.

Introduction to Advanced Searching MyUni course