Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Psychiatry: Books

eBooks - a selection

The Library has purchased a number of large collections of electronic books, but each platform has its own conditions of use, and methods of access

eBook platforms and how to use them
This guide will assist you with using the various eBook platforms - e.g. EBSCO, ebrary, Cambridge, and Taylor and Francis.

Help with use of eBooks, is available, and includes options for downloading and printing.

All individual book titles can be found using Library Search

DSM Library - this includes all editions of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, published by the American Psychiatric Association. we also have access to the current editions of American Psychiatric Publishing books

PsycBOOKS
PsycBOOKS is a full-text database that provides electronic access to thousands of scholarly and professional titles published by the American Psychological Association, including recent titles in psychological and behavioural science, plus a substantial back file of classic and historic works.


Useful sources of free online books are:-

The National Library of Medicine in the United States has many free online books of interest for psychiatry

National Academies Press is another source of free health and psychiatry related online books.

Finding Books In Our Library

Library Search - Book Title

NOTE:- Omit The A or An  if it occurs as the first word in a title  - Library Search can't deal with this.

Find
Limit to:
Advanced Search

 

Library Search - Book Author

Find
Limit to:
Advanced Search

 

Library Search - Book Subject

I've created a list of subject headings commonly used to search for books on psychiatry topics

There are other search options available in Library Search, but remember to limit your search to Books

Use this link to check on loan periods

If We Don't Have the Book You Need...

Sometimes you won't find the book you need in our collection, but Libraries Australia will let you see details of books held in all major libraries throughout the country, and our Document Delivery service can borrow them for you on interlibrary loan.

Libraries Australia
Libraries Australia is a web-based service for Australian libraries and their users. It is a National Bibliographic Database of material held in libraries throughout the country, and enables you to search for an item and find out which library in Australia holds it. Use the Help option on the toolbar to find hints on effective searching.
With the Advanced Search option you can restrict your search to books held by libraries in South Australia.

Check the catalogues of the libraries of Flinders University and the University of South Australia. If either of these libraries holds the book you need, you can visit the library and borrow it.

OR

Request  the book on interlibrary loan, using our Document Delivery service.
Up to 50 requests are supplied free of charge for each person for each calendar year.

Use the Inter Library Request link in Library Search to make a request.

Additional information is here.

Government Publications and Specialist Bookshops

Much government report literature is available free online, and there are some publishers who also provide free online books - see the example from National Academies Press in the left hand column.

Google Advanced Search is really useful for searching for government report literature.It allows phrase searching in combination with multiple options.

You can limit your search in the following ways:-

  • to a site, or domain, eg. gov.au   gov.uk  etc.
  • to a geographical region
  • to a file type
  • and to a language


Department of Health (U.K.). Mental health publications. Archived Content
Many of these publications are available electronically.

Karnac Books
The Karnac online book shop has a catalogue of around 6,000 titles relating to psychoanalysis, analytical psychology, psychotherapy, counselling, child and adolescent studies, family and marital studies, group psychotherapy, and organisations. The site also provides a list of links to a large number of analytic associations.

Mental Health Publications. Ministry of Health. New Zealand
Publications are available as .pdf files.

Mental Health Foundation - Publications
Many publications are available electronically.

Mental Health Publications
From the Australian Government Department of Health and Ageing.

Mental Health Services (AIHW)
This is the Australian Institute of Health and Welfare's portal to mental health information.

OPEN LEAVES Books
A Bookshop which specialises in the areas of psychotherapy and mental health. A mail order service is available.

Publications - australia.gov.au enables you to search for publications from Australian Government websites and Australian libraries using any combination of information about the publication, including all or part of the title, publisher name, or ISBN.

Royal College of Psychiatrists. Publications
Publications from the Royal College of Psychiatrists in the U.K.

SA Health Publications and Resources
The full text of many documents is available from this site.