eTG complete
Searchable peer-reviewed clinical guidelines. Topics include analgesia, antibiotics, cardiovascular, respiratory, endocrinology, neurology, gastroenterology, dermatology, palliative care, psychotropics and drug prescribing in pregnancy and breastfeeding. These guidelines have been prepared by expert groups of experienced clinicians. They represent independent consensus distillation and interpretation of the best available evidence and opinion at the time of publication.

A Guide to the Development, Evaluation and Implementation of Clinical Practice Guidelines
This document, produced by the National Health and Medical Research Council, emphasises the importance of basing guideline recommendations on the systematic identification and synthesis of the best available scientific evidence. It is supplemented with a series of handbooks with further information on the main stages involved in the development of clinical practice guidelines.

Search PubMed for Health Technology Assessment reports on mental disorders
Health Technology Assessment is a publication of the National Co-Ordinating Centre for Health Technology Assessment, in the UK., and the full text is available free through PubMed. Just click on the title of a report to see an abstract, and link to full text.

What Makes a Good Clinical Guideline?
By Rebecca Broughton, and Barrie Rathbone.
What Is 1(11) 2001

Collections of Guidelines

American Psychiatric Association . Practice Guidelines
Guidelines on a range of disorders. Quick reference guides, and patient and family guides are also available here.

American Psychological Association (APA) - Guidelines for Practitioners

The British Association for Psychopharmacology Documents BAP Consensus Guidelines

Canadian Psychiatric Association. Clinical Guidelines and Position Papers
A substantial collections of position papers, clinical guidelines and statements of practice.

Cochrane Mental Health Summaries
There are summaries of Cochrane reviews. A complete list of the Cochrane Review Groups can be found here.The full text of the reviews can be accessed through the Cochrane Library

National Guideline Clearinghouse
The National Guideline Clearinghouse™ (NGC) is a comprehensive database of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines and related documents produced by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) (formerly the Agency for Health Care Policy and Research [AHCPR]), in partnership with the American Medical Association (AMA) and the American Association of Health Plans (AAHP). There is a large list of links to guidelines on the treatment of mental disorders at this site. To access the list you will need to click on the Disease/Condition option.

Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Psychiatrists. Statements and Guidelines

Royal College of Psychiatrists. College Reports
College reports (previously known as Council Reports) have been formally approved by a meeting of the Central Policy Co-ordination Committee (CPCC) of the Royal College of Psychiatrists, and constitute official College policy until revised or withdrawn.

Guidelines by Subject

Anxiety Disorders (including PTSD and Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder)

Anxiety (NICE)
Guidance published by the National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE). Includes NICE Pathways for:-

Generalised anxiety disorder
Obsessive-compulsive disorder
Panic disorder
Post traumatic stress disorder
Social anxiety disorder

as well as associated NICE guidelines, NICE technology appraisals, and NICE quality standards.

Anxiety Disorders
National Guideline Clearinghouse - Guidelines by Topic.

Australian Guidelines for the Treatment of Acute Stress Disorder and Posttraumatic Stress Disorder
Produced by the Australian Centre for Posttraumatic Mental Health at the University of Melbourne.

Clinical Practice Guidelines: Management of Anxiety Disorders
Guidelines from the Canadian Psychiatric Association
Canadian Journal of Psychiatry July 2006, vol. 51, Suppl. 2

Evidence-based pharmacological treatment of anxiety disorders, post-traumatic stress disorder and obsessive-compulsive disorder: A revision of the 2005 guidelines from the British Association for Psychopharmacology

IASC Guidelines on Mental health and Psychosocial support in emergency settings
Geneva, Interagency Standing Committee, 2007.

Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder - Evidence Search
NICE (National Institute for Health and Care Excellence) Evidence Services are a suite of services that provide internet access to high quality authoritative evidence and best practice.

Child and Adolescent Mental Disorders

ADHD, Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder in Primary Care for School-Age Children and Adolescents, Diagnosis and Management (Guideline)
A Health Care Guideline from the Institute for Clinical Systems Improvement.

American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry. Practice Parameters
Each Summary was published in the Journal of the American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry. Details are provided of volume, issue, and date.

Antisocial behaviour and conduct disorders in children and young people (NICE Pathways)
NICE Pathways is an online tool for health and social care professionals that brings together all related NICE guidance and associated products.

Attachment Difficulties in Children and Young People (NICE Pathways)
NICE Pathways is an online tool for health and social care professionals that brings together all related NICE guidance and associated products.

Attention deficit disorder (NICE)
Guidance published by the National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE). Includes NICE Pathway for attention deficit hyperactivity disorder, as well as associated NICE guidelines, NICE technology appraisals, and NICE quality standards.

Autism (NICE)
Guidance published by the National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE). Includes NICE Pathway for autism as well as associated NICE guidelines, NICE technology appraisals, and NICE quality standards.

Building and Sustaining Specialist Child and Adolescent Mental Health Services
Royal College of Psychiatrists. This report provides guidance to practitioners, managers and commissioners on the capacity and provision of specialist child and adolescent mental health services (CAMHS) in England, Ireland, Northern Ireland, Scotland and Wales. Evidence is collated from a number of sources, including published and unpublished literature and examples of best practice.

Clinical Practice Points on the Diagnosis, Assessment and Management of ADHD in Children and Adolescents
National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC)

Clinical Practice Guidelines: Depression in adolescents and young adults
National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC)

Conduct Disorder in Children and Adolescents
Summary and recommendations of the expert group brought together by INSERM (the French National Medical Research Institute) within the framework of the collective expertise procedure to answer the questions raised by the Caisse Nationale d'Assurance Maladie des travailleurs indépendants (CANAM; French Health Insurance Fund) concerning the screening, management, and prevention of conduct disorder in children and adolescents. INSERM , 2005.

Improving access to child and adolescent mental health services: reducing waiting times policy and practice guide(including guidance on the 18 weeks referral to treatment standard)
This joint DH/DCSF guide states how the 18 weeks referral to treatment standard, (NHS Operating Framework for 2009/10) applies to non-emergency consultant-led CAMHS services and pathways. It shows how accessible low-wait CAMHS can be achieved and provides good practice examples. Produced by the Department of Health, Department for Children, Schools and Families, (U.K.), August 2009.

Management of attention deficit and hyperkinetic disorders in children and young people
A national clinical guideline. Scottish Intercollegiate Guidelines Network (SIGN)

Mental Disorders Diagnosed in Childhood
National Guidelines Clearinghouse - Guidelines by Topic.

Patients as Parents: Addressing the needs, including the safety, of children whose parents have mental illness
Royal College of Psychiatrists. This report provides a fully referenced and practical summary of key issues involving the interactions and influences between parental psychiatric disorder and child mental health and wellbeing. It promotes an ecological approach in which mental illness is firmly embedded within a family

Reducing Substance Misuse Among Vulnerable Children and Young People (NICE Pathways)
NICE Pathways is an online tool for health and social care professionals that brings together all related NICE guidance and associated products.

Social and Emotional Wellbeing for Children and Young People Overview (NICE Pathways)
NICE Pathways is an online tool for health and social care professionals that brings together all related NICE guidance and associated products.

Delirium

Delirium (NICE)
Guidance published by the National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE). Includes NICE Pathway for delirium, as well as associated NICE guidelines, NICE technology appraisals, and NICE quality standards.

Dug and Alcohol Abuse

Alcohol Guidelines: Reducing the Health Risk
National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC)

Alcohol Treatment Guidelines for Indigenous Australians
Canberra, Department of Health and Ageing, 2007

Alcohol Use Disorders (NICE)
Guidance published by the National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE). Includes NICE Pathway for alcohol use disorders, as well as associated NICE guidelines, NICE technology appraisals, and NICE quality standards.

CSAT Treatment Improvement Protocols (TIP)s
These are best practice guidelines for the treatment of substance abuse from the CSAT (Center for Substance Abuse Treatment) Office of Evaluation, Scientific Analysis, and Synthesis.

Drug misuse (NICE Pathways)
NICE Pathways is an online tool for health and social care professionals that brings together all related NICE guidance and associated products in a set of interactive topic-based diagrams. Each Pathway includes quality standards, technology appraisals, clinical and public health guidance and NICE implementation tools.

Effective Interventions Unit: Integrated Care Pathways Guide 6: Drug Misuse in Acute Psychiatric Settings
From the Effective Interventions Unit, Substance Misuse Division of the Scottish Executive.

Guidance for commissioners of drug and alcohol services
Joint Commissioning Panel for Mental Health, May 2013. The Joint Commissioning Panel for Mental Health (JCPMH) is co-chaired by the Royal College of Psychiatrists and the Royal College of General Practitioners. It is described as a collaboration between seventeen leading organisations, inspiring commissioners to improve mental health and wellbeing, using a values based commissioning model.

The Management of Harmful Drinking and Alcohol Dependence in Primary Care
A national clinical guideline. Scottish Intercollegiate Guidelines Network (SIGN)

Preventing Substance Use Problems Among Young People: A Compendium of Best Practices
Prepared by: Gary Roberts, Douglas McCall, Andrea Stevens-Lavigne, Jim Anderson, Angela Paglia, Sandy Bollenbach, Jamie Wiebe and Louis Gliksman Coordinated by the Canadian Centre on Substance Abuse for the Office of Canada’s Drug Strategy Health Canada, 2002.

The Prevention of Substance Use, Risk and Harm in Australia - a review of the evidence
By Wendy Loxley and others. A report prepared by the National Drug Research Centre and the Centre for Adolescent Health. Published for the Commonwealth Department of Health and Ageing, 2004.

Substance-Related Disorders
National Guideline Clearinghouse - Guidelines by Topic

Dual Diagnosis

Behavioral Health Recovery Management Service Planning Guidelines Co-Occurring Psychiatric and Substance Disorders
These guidelines (April 2001) were developed for the Behavioral Health Recovery Management project by Dr. Kenneth Minkoff. The project is an initiative of Fayette Companies, Peoria, IL; Chestnut Health Systems, Bloomington, IL; and the University of Chicago Center for Psychiatric Rehabilitation.

Best Practices: Concurrent Mental Health and Substance Use Disorders
Prepared by the Centre for Addiction and Mental Health, Canada's Drug Strategy, 2002.

Comorbid Mental Disorders and Substance Use Disorders: Epidemiology, Prevention and Treatment
Report prepared by the National Drug and Alcohol Research Centre for the National Drug Strategy for the Commonwealth Department of Health and Ageing 2003.

Comorbidity of mental disorders and substance use: A brief guide for the primary care clinician
Drug and Alcohol Services South Australia 2008. This monograph provides clinicians with information on how best to manage individuals with comorbid mental disorders and substance use issues. It updates and expands the original comorbidity management guidelines published in 2002.

Comprehensive Continuous Integrated System of Care (CCISC) Psychopharmacology Practice Guidelines for Individuals with Co-occurring Psychiatric and Substance Use Disorders (COD)
Developed by Kenneth Minkoff, with assistance from Terry Schwartz, Jeff Rowe, and other members of the psychopharmacology Committee of the San Diego County CCISC Project. Based on the psychopharmacology guidelines in Minkoff (2001), Service Planning Guidelines for Co-occurring Psychiatric and Substance Disorders, Illinois Behavioral Health Recovery Management Project. Additional information about CCISC is available here.

Dual diagnosis in mental health inpatient and day hospital settings
Department of Health (UK,) October 2006. This guidance covers the assessment and clinical management of patients with mental illness being cared for in psychiatric inpatient or day care settings who also use or misuse alcohol and/or illicit or other drugs.

Guidelines on the management of co-occuring alcohol and other drug and mental health conditions in alcohol and other drug treatment settings
National Drug and Alcohol Research Centre, University of New South Wales, 2010.

Psychosis with Coexisting Substance Misuse Overview (NICE Pathways)
NICE Pathways is an online tool for health and social care professionals that brings together all related NICE guidance and associated products.

Substance Abuse Treatment for Persons with Co-Occurring Mental Disorders
Center for Substance Abuse Treatment. Rockville, MD., Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services, 2005.

Eating Disorders

Eating Disorders
National Guideline Clearinghouse - Guidelines by Topic.

Eating Disorders (NICE)
Guidance published by the National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE). Includes NICE Pathway for eating disorders as well as associated NICE guidelines, NICE technology appraisals, and NICE quality standards.

Guidelines for the nutritional management of anorexia nervosa
Royal College of Psychiatrists. This report was produced by a multidisciplinary group which included specialists in eating disorders in adults and children, dietitians and experts in clinical nutrition.

Junior MARSIPAN: Management of Really Sick Patients Under 18 with Anorexia Nervosa
Royal College of Psychiatrists. The Junior MARSIPAN working group was formed to develop guidelines for young people with anorexia nervosa to complement the report from the MARSIPAN group (CR162. MARSIPAN: Management of Really Sick Patients with Anorexia Nervosa) which addresses the care of adult in-patients with anorexia nervosa.

MARSIPAN: Management of Really Sick Patients with Anorexia Nervosa
Royal College of Psychiatrists. This report provides recommendations and guidelines on the management of this patient group in a number of settings, in order to help reduce the number of avoidable deaths of patients with severe anorexia nervosa.

Electroconvulsive Therapy (ECT)

The ECT Accreditation Service (ECTAS) Resource Library
From the Royal College of Psychiatrists. Includes standards for the administration of ECT.

ECT - Electroconvulsive Therapy (NICE)
A Technology Appraisal from the National Institute for Clinical Excellence(NICE) in the U.K., on the use of electroconvulsive therapy.

Geriatric Psychiatry and the Dementias

Clinical practice with anti-dementia drugs: a revised (second) consensus statement from the British Association for Psychopharmacology
British Association for Psychopharmacology.

Common core principles for supporting people with dementia: a guide to training the social care and health workforce
Department of Health (U.K.) June 2011. The 'Common core principles for supporting people with dementia' have been produced jointly by Skills for Care and Skills for Health. They can be used to support workforce development for any member of staff, in any health or social care setting, working with people at any stage of dementia.

Delirium, Dementia, Amnestic, Cognitive Disorders
National Guideline Clearinghouse - Guidelines by Topic

Dementia (NICE)
Guidance published by the National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE). Includes NICE Pathway for dementia, as well as associated NICE guidelines, NICE technology appraisals, and NICE quality standards.

Management of patients with dementia
A national clinical guideline. Scottish Intercollegiate Guidelines Network (SIGN)

Mental wellbeing and independence in older people (NICE Pathways)
NICE Pathways is an online tool for health and social care professionals that brings together all related NICE guidance and associated products in a set of interactive topic-based diagrams. Each Pathway includes quality standards, technology appraisals, clinical and public health guidance and NICE implementation tools.

Mood Disorders

Bipolar Affective Disorder
A National Clinical Guideline from the Scottish Intercollegiate Guidelines Network ( SIGN)

Bipolar Disorder (NICE)
Guidance published by the National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE). Includes NICE Pathway for bipolar disorder, as well as associated NICE guidelines, NICE technology appraisals, and NICE quality standards.

CANMAT Guidelines, slides, and articles
Resources from the Canadian Network for Mood and Anxiety Treatments (CANMAT). Includes guidelines for the management of patients with bipolar disorder. Updates are to be used in conjunction with the original guidelines.

Depression - Evidence Search
NICE (National Institute for Health and Care Excellence) Evidence Services are a suite of services that provide internet access to high quality authoritative evidence and best practice.

Depression (NICE)
Guidance published by the National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE). Includes NICE Pathway for depression, as well as associated NICE guidelines, NICE technology appraisals, and NICE quality standards.

Evidence-based Guidelines for Treating Bipolar Disorder
British Association for Psychopharmacology.

Evidence-based guidelines for treating depressive disorders with antidepressants: A revision of the 2000 British Association for Psychopharmacology guidelines
British Association for Psychopharmacology.

Identification of common mental disorders and management of depression in primary care
New Zealand Guidelines Group, July 2008.

Major Depression in Adults in Primary Care
A Health Care Guideline from the Institute for Clinical Systems Improvement.

Mood Disorders
National Guideline Clearinghouse - Guidelines by Topic

Non-pharmaceutical management of depression
A national clinical guideline. Scottish Intercollegiate Guidelines Network (SIGN)

Seasonal Affective Disorder - Evidence Search
NICE (National Institute for Health and Care Excellence) Evidence Services are a suite of services that provide internet access to high quality authoritative evidence and best practice.

Personality Disorders (Including Borderline Personality Disorder and Antisocial Personality Disorder)

Clinical Practice Guideline for the Management of Borderline Personality Disorder (2012)
National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC)

Expert Paper: Neurobiological Approaches to Disorders of Personality
By Dr Malread Dolan, this paper is one of a series produced by the NHS National Programme on Forensic Mental Health Research and Development.

Personality Disorders
National Guideline Clearinghouse - Guidelines by Topic

Personality disorders (NICE)
Guidance published by the National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE). Includes NICE Pathway for personality disorders, as well as associated NICE guidelines, NICE technology appraisals, and NICE quality standards.

Psychiatric Disorders Associated with Pregnancy and Childbirth

Antenatal and postnatal mental health (NICE Pathways)
NICE Pathways is an online tool for health and social care professionals that brings together all related NICE guidance and associated products in a set of interactive topic-based diagrams. Each Pathway includes quality standards, technology appraisals, clinical and public health guidance and NICE implementation tools.

Guidance for commissioners of perinatal mental health services
Joint Commissioning Panel for Mental Health, December 2012. The Joint Commissioning Panel for Mental Health (JCPMH) is co-chaired by the Royal College of Psychiatrists and the Royal College of General Practitioners. It is described as a collaboration between seventeen leading organisations, inspiring commissioners to improve mental health and wellbeing, using a values based commissioning model.

Management of perinatal mood disorders
A national clinical guideline. Scottish Intercollegiate Guidelines Network (SIGN)

Perinatal Clinical Practice Guidelines
beyondblue (2011) Clinical practice guidelines for depression and related disorders – anxiety, bipolar disorder and puerperal
psychosis – in the perinatal period. A guideline for primary care health professionals.

Postnatal Depression - Evidence Search
NICE (National Institute for Health and Care Excellence) Evidence Services are a suite of services that provide internet access to high quality authoritative evidence and best practice.

Schizophrenia and Other Psychotic Disorders

Consensus Statement on High-Dose Antipsychotic Medication
Royal College of Psychiatrists. This report addresses the use of high-dose antipsychotic medication only in adult mental health services, and not other psychiatric services such as child and adolescent, elderly, and learning difficulties.

Management of Schizophrenia
A national clinical guideline. Scottish Intercollegiate Guidelines Network (SIGN

Psychosis and Schizophrenia (NICE)
Guidance published by the National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE). Includes NICE Pathway for psychosis and schizophrenia, as well as associated NICE guidelines, NICE technology appraisals, and NICE quality standards.

Schizophrenia and Disorders with Psychotic Features
National Guideline Clearinghouse - Guidelines by Topic.

Schizophrenia - Evidence Search
NICE (National Institute for Health and Care Excellence) Evidence Services are a suite of services that provide internet access to high quality authoritative evidence and best practice.

Schizophrenia : Statements and Guidelines
Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Psychiatrists. (RANZCP)

Schizophrenia and other psychotic disorders: Health Technology Assessment
Health Technology Assessment is a publication of the National Co-Ordinating Centre for Health Technology Assessment, in the UK., and the full text is available free through PubMed.

Suicide and Self Harm

Better Services for People Who Self-Harm
Resources from the Royal College of Psychiatrists, including a manual of standards.

Self harm: Statements and Guidelines
Australian and New Zealand College of Psychiatrists (RANZCP)

Effectiveness of Interventions to Prevent Suicide and Suicidal Behaviour: A Systematic Review: Annotated Bibliography
By Maria Leitner, Wally Barr, and Lindsay Hobby. Scottish Government Social Research, January 2008. The project provides a comprehensive overview of the effectiveness of interventions to prevent suicide, suicidal behaviour and ideation, in both key risk groups and the general population.

Practice Guideline for the Assessment and Treatment of Patients With Suicidal Behaviors
A practice guideline produced by the American Psychiatric Association.

Self-harm (NICE)
Guidance published by the National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE). Includes NICE Pathway for self harm, as well as associated NICE guidelines, NICE technology appraisals, and NICE quality standards.

Suicide Identification, Assessment and Treatment Planning
From the CRICO/RMF, the patient safety and medical malpractice company owned by and serving the Harvard Medical community.