Primary sources for history

Primary sources across time periods and countries

Renaissance and Early Modern history

State Papers Online : Early Modern Government in Britain and Europe This link opens in a new window
Contains fulltext domestic and foreign papers of the Secretaries of State from the reign of Henry VIII to the reign of George III (1509-1782). They are housed in the UK National Archives.
British History Online This link opens in a new window
British History Online is a digital library of key printed primary and secondary sources for the history of Britain and Ireland, with a primary focus on the period between 1300 and 1800
Early English books online EEBO This link opens in a new window
Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700.
Archives unbound This link opens in a new window
Covers a broad range of topics from the Middle Ages forward - from Witchcraft to World War II to twentieth-century political history.
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
A nonprofit digital library of images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences with a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.

British Library Digitised Manuscripts
View digitised copies of manuscripts and archives in the British Library’s collections, with descriptions of their contents
Domesday Book
Hosted by the UK National Archives, Domesday is Britain’s earliest public record. It contains the results of a huge survey of land and landholding commissioned by William I in 1085. Domesday is an extensive record of pre-industrial society and provides a unique window on the medieval world.
Cornell University Library’s Witchcraft Collection
An online selection of 104 English language books from the Witchcraft Collection is available to search, browse by title, or browse by author.
Digital Scriptorium
Database - with images - of medieval and renaissance manuscripts held in selected US libraries

Subjects: History (Primary sources)

Tags: history, primary sources