Primary sources for history

Drawn from the Sabin collection and other Gale sources, the archive provides access to a wide variety of documents: personal narratives and memoirs, political pamphlets and speeches, sermons and poems, legislative journals and popular magazines.

Primary source documents from1650-1920. Covers the various European and colonial frontier regions of North America, Africa and Australasia. The vast majority of the material is unique and unpublished manuscript in the form of correspondence, diaries, land records, and business records.

British History Online is a digital library of key printed primary and secondary sources for the history of Britain and Ireland, with a primary focus on the period between 1300 and 1800

Pt. 1: 1450-1850 ; Pt. 2:1851-1914 ; Pt. 3: 1890-1945
Covers the history of Western trade, including the Industrial Revolution in Great Britain. Also covers the rise of the modern labor movement, the evolving status of slavery, the condition and making of the working class, colonization, the Atlantic world, Latin American/Caribbean studies, social history, gender, and the economic theories that championed capitalism in the nineteenth century. Has essential texts on the crisis of the French monarchy and the French Revolution at the end of the eighteenth century.

Particular strengths include U.S. foreign policy; U.S. civil rights; global affairs and colonial studies; and modern history. Broad topic clusters include: African American studies; American Indian studies; Asian studies; British history; Holocaust studies; LGBT studies; Latin American and Caribbean studies; Middle East studies; political science; religious studies; and women’s studies.

Pt. 1: 1450-1850 ; Pt. 2:1851-1914 ; Pt. 3: 1890-1945
Covers the history of Western trade, including the Industrial Revolution in Great Britain. Also covers the rise of the modern labor movement, the evolving status of slavery, the condition and making of the working class, colonization, the Atlantic world, Latin American/Caribbean studies, social history, gender, and the economic theories that championed capitalism in the nineteenth century. Has essential texts on the crisis of the French monarchy and the French Revolution at the end of the eighteenth century.

Includes a variety of material types: monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more--in one cross-searchable location.

This collection traces the path of women's issues from past to present--pulling primary sources from manuscripts, newspapers, periodicals, and more.

This second part of the Science, Technology, and Medicine archive includes some three million pages of scientific material from the late seventeenth century through the first quarter of the twentieth century, with a primary focus on the nineteenth century. The collection is divided into four major parts: academies of science publications, natural history, public health, and entomology.

London Low Life is a full-text searchable resource, containing colour digital images of rare books, ephemera, maps and other materials relating to 18th, 19th and early 20th century London.

Brings together over 50,000 images of original documents relating to gender studies: Conduct and politeness; Domesticity and the family; Consumption and leisure; Education and sensibility; The body.

Pt. 1: 1450-1850 ; Pt. 2:1851-1914 ; Pt. 3: 1890-1945
Covers the history of Western trade, including the Industrial Revolution in Great Britain. Also covers the rise of the modern labor movement, the evolving status of slavery, the condition and making of the working class, colonization, the Atlantic world, Latin American/Caribbean studies, social history, gender, and the economic theories that championed capitalism in the nineteenth century. Has essential texts on the crisis of the French monarchy and the French Revolution at the end of the eighteenth century.

Newspaper pages, Newspapers, newsbooks, Acts of Parliament, addresses, broadsides, pamphlets, proclamations. The most comprehensive collection of early English newspapers. Titles from London, British Isles, and colonies.

Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700.