Primary sources for history

British History Online is a digital library of key printed primary and secondary sources for the history of Britain and Ireland, with a primary focus on the period between 1300 and 1800

Brings together manuscript, printed and visual primary source materials for the study of 'Empire' and its theories, practices and consequences. The materials span across the last five centuries and are accompanied by a host of secondary learning resources including scholarly essays, maps and an interactive chronology.

Particular strengths include U.S. foreign policy; U.S. civil rights; global affairs and colonial studies; and modern history. Broad topic clusters include: African American studies; American Indian studies; Asian studies; British history; Holocaust studies; LGBT studies; Latin American and Caribbean studies; Middle East studies; political science; religious studies; and women’s studies.

Contains fulltext domestic and foreign papers of the Secretaries of State from the reign of Henry VIII to the reign of George III (1509-1782). They are housed in the UK National Archives.

The Making of the Modern World: Part II, 1851-1914 takes The Making of the Modern World series to the end of the nineteenth century. Comprised mainly of monographs, reports, correspondence, speeches, and surveys, this collection broadens Gale’s international coverage of social, economic, and business history, as well as political science, technology, industrialisation, and the birth of the modern corporation. The Making of the Modern World, Part III, 1890-1945 is a collection of monographs and periodicals on political economy, trade, finance, industry, business, labour, and related subjects.

Newspaper pages, Newspapers, newsbooks, Acts of Parliament, addresses, broadsides, pamphlets, proclamations. The most comprehensive collection of early English newspapers. Titles from London, British Isles, and colonies.

From the Churchill Archives Centre in Cambridge. Offers documents including Churchill's hand-written notes and private letters and a range of pedagogical resources and secondary materials, video and audio content, and more.

Complete record of political life in Occupied Western Europe available to the British Government during World War II from the original intelligence reports received by the British Foreign office. Searchable images from class FO 371 at The UK National Archives

London Low Life is a full-text searchable resource, containing colour digital images of rare books, ephemera, maps and other materials relating to 18th, 19th and early 20th century London.