Primary sources for history

Particular strengths include U.S. foreign policy; U.S. civil rights; global affairs and colonial studies; and modern history. Broad topic clusters include: African American studies; American Indian studies; Asian studies; British history; Holocaust studies; LGBT studies; Latin American and Caribbean studies; Middle East studies; political science; religious studies; and women’s studies.

Includes essays on British social history collected between 1937 and 1972 during a project called the Mass Observation. The archives also include photographs, file reports, diaries, day surveys and links to other sites. Access to Mass Observation Online and Mass Observation I module only.

The collection consists of newspapers published during World War 2 and its immediate aftermath (1939-1948). Titles from all the key theatres are featured, including some non-English material in German, Czech, Hindi, Russian, French, Italian, Polish, Hebrew, Afrikaans, Swahili, and African dialects.

Published in three parts, this collection makes available extensive coverage of British Foreign Office files: Japanese Imperialism and the War in the Pacific, 1931-1945; Occupation of Japan, 1946-1952; Japan and Great Power Status, 1919-1930.

This series was issued by the British Government between c. 1820 and 1970. It preserves the most important papers generated by the Foreign and Colonial Offices. the documents cover the whole of the modern period of European colonisation of the continent from the British Government’s perspective.

Covers the cultural and trading relationships that emerged between America, China and the Pacific region between the early 18th and 20th centuries. Includes ships' logs, manuscripts, newspapers, rare printed books, visual material, maps, and ephemera.

Pt. 1: 1920-1979, Pt. 2: 1980-2008. Provides subject-indexed briefing papers, special reports, pamphlets, conference papers and monographs. Also provides the full-text of Chatham House's publications and audio recordings of lectures and fully searchable transcripts.