Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Resources

This LibGuide provides a starting point for finding Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander library materials, resources and subject guides

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Collections

Library Collections

State Library of SA - Indigenous Collection Services
The State Library holds a number of significant Indigenous anthropological archival collections, including the Mountford-Sheard collection.
State Library of SA - Aboriginal Australia Library Guide
A research assistance subject guide with useful resources compiled by the State Library of South Australia. Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander subjects include: Military service; Mabo, Wik and Native Title; Referendums and Recognition; Stolen Generations; Family History; Languages; Literature; Aboriginal Missions in South Australia; Aboriginal People of South Australia; David Unaipon.
National Library of Australia - Indigenous Collection
The Library's collection holds a diverse range of material, offering a rich interpretation of Australia's past and contemporary Indigenous culture.
State Library of NSW - Indigenous Engagement and Collections
State Library of NSW Indigenous Engagement resources and collections.
State Library of Victoria - Koori Victoria
From its early days as the first collecting institution in the new settlement of Port Phillip, the State Library of Victoria has been in a unique position to develop its holdings of books, photographs and other material relating to Aboriginal people.
State Library of WA - Indigenous WA
Explore Aboriginal stories, Storylines, music, and family history
State Library of QLD - Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander collections
Explore the diversity of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander cultures through the photographs, manuscripts, oral histories and digital stories collections of the John Oxley Library, including the Margaret Lawrie collection and Tindale Genealogical collection.
Koorie Heritage Trust Collection
A donation in the early 1980s of a grinding stone to the Koorie Heritage Trust prompted the idea of creating a Keeping Place to preserve, protect and promote the Koorie cultural heritage of Victoria. The collection includes artworks and objects, photography, oral history recordings and a reference library, focused solely on representing the Koorie Aboriginal culture of South-Eastern Australia.