Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Resources

This LibGuide provides a starting point for finding Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander library materials, resources and subject guides

Collection Cultural Rights Management

Collections Policy
A new Collections Policy replaces the previous Collection Management Policy and Procedures.

The University endorses the following national and international protocols and policy frameworks:

The United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples
Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Library, Information and Resource Network Protocols for Libraries, Archives and Information Services (ATSILIRN)
The Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies AIATSIS Code of Ethics for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Research
This document supersedes and replaces the Guidelines for Ethical Research in Australian Indigenous Studies (GERAIS)
The National and State Libraries Australia Working with Community: Guidelines for collaborative practice between libraries and Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander communities.

The University, where possible, ensures that Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander stakeholders are engaged, consulted and involved in the use and interpretation of their cultural heritage and Indigenous Cultural and Intellectual Property (ICIP) rights are up held within its collections.

Indigenous Cultural and Intellectual Property (ICIP)
ICIP rights are Indigenous People’s rights to their heritage and culture. Heritage includes all aspects of cultural practices, traditional knowledge, and resources and knowledge systems developed by Indigenous people as part of their Indigenous identity.
Culturally Safe Libraries: Working With Indigenous Collections
This resource is part of a national effort to provide culturally safe public spaces and services in libraries for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples, and a supportive workplace for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander staff where they are able to confidently draw strength in their identity, culture and community.
National and State Libraries Australasia (NSLA) : Position Statement: Aboriginal And Torres Strait Islander Library Services And Collections
The NSLA's commitment to nationally and internationally recognised protocols to ensure that collections and services are accessible, appropriate and responsive to the needs and perspectives of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples.
Works in Progress Webinar: Operationalizing the CARE Principles for Indigenous Data Governance
What are the CARE Principles? Learn how they work to address the historical legacy of data inequities that impact Indigenous Peoples. Presenters will also discuss how the CARE Principles promote a broader understanding of the FAIR Principles when applied to Indigenous data and collections.