Psychology: Tests and Measures

Access to many psychological tests is restricted to qualified psychologists or psychology students, and these tests are not held by the Barr Smith Library. Some tests published in journals and monographs do not have restricted use, and may be available through the Library.

You will find additional links to psychiatric rating scales and clinical tests on my Psychiatry LibGuide

The APA has a blog which includes details of How to Cite a Psychological Test in APA Style

The School of Psychology has a Test Library, accessible to staff (including titleholders) and honours and higher degree students, but not to undergraduates.

The Test Library is located in Room 114 in the Hughes Building. 

Library opening hours during Semesters One and Two and the mid Semester break are 11.00 - 1.00 on Tuesdays and Thursdays.  In the summer non-teaching period, the library is open via appointment only.

Out of session appointments can be made with Corinne Mensforth, the Test Librarian, who can be contacted at fhmsresops@adelaide.edu.au.

Mental Measurements Yearbook
Mental Measurements Yearbook, from the Buros Center for Testing, contains critical reviews of new and revised tests from the Buros Center for Testing's Yearbooks. The database covers more than 4,000 commercially-available tests from the 9th edition (1985) through to the current edition and its supplement, in categories such as personality, developmental, behavioral assessment, neuropsychological, achievement, intelligence and aptitude, educational, speech & hearing, and sensory motor.

Buros Educational Resources
A range of additional tools is availale to make use of Tests in Print, and the Mental Measurements Yearbook easier.

Using a Mental Measurement Yearbook Review and Other Materials to Evaluate a Test
By Anthony J Nitko, for the Buros Center for Testing.

Using a Mental Measurements Yearbook Review to Evaluate a Test
By Anthony J Nitko, for the Buros Center for Testing

PsycTESTS
PsycTESTS is a research database that provides access to psychological tests, measures, scales, surveys, and other assessments as well as descriptive information about the tests and their development and administration.

Scope of the database:-

• The main focus of PsycTESTS is unpublished tests, those developed by researchers for use in their work but not made commercially available. For as many as possible, APA includes the full text of the tests and measures. The records for these are based on published accounts of test development or evaluation. In some cases, the record is based on use of a test when it has been used for a new population or setting.

• The second category is tests from the Archives of the History of American Psychology at the University of Akron. These tests may not be literature based.

• The third category is commercially available tests. APA has agreements with several commercial test publishers to create records for their tests and, in some cases, to include sample reports, instructions, or sample questions.

Videos on using PsycTESTS on the Ovid plarform are here

Other test Sites

APA Science Directorate: Testing and Assessment
Information about testing and assessment from the American Psychological Association. There is a section on Finding Information About Psychological Tests that addresses the most frequently asked questions about locating psychological tests.

British Psychological Society Psychological Testing Centre
The British Psychological Society’s Psychological Testing Centre (PTC) provides information and services relating to standards in tests and testing for test takers, test users, test developers and members of the public.

ETS Test Collection
This collection from the Educational Testing Service includes details of over 25,000 tests, including publishers’ details.

PROQOLID, the Patient-Reported Outcome and Quality Of Life Instruments Database
Descriptions of a wide range of instruments.

Stony Brook Attachment Measures
This site, from the Department of Psychology at the State University of New York at Stony Brook, contains a number of instruments relating to the measurement of mother infant interaction.

TMdb (Tests and Measures in the Social Sciences: Tests Available in Compilation Volumes)
Compiled by Helen Hough, Health Sciences Librarian, University of Texas at Arlington, an excellent listing of tests published in compilation volumes of tests and measures. It has a useful author and keyword index.

Test Reviews Online
A free resource from the Buros Institute web site, Test Reviews Online provides addresses and contact details for publishers of tests.

VassarStats: Statistical Computation Website
This site is created and maintained by Richard Lowry Department of Psychology Vassar College. It contains programmes which will perform calculations using a range of statistical tests and methods, including Fisher's Exact Probability Test, Chi-Square "Goodness of Fit" Test, t-Test for Independent Samples, and many others. Detailed instructions are given on how to access and use this facility.