Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EndNote

Guidance on using EndNote software at the University of Adelaide

If you notice an error in your Word bibliography, DO NOT correct it directly in the document - this can disrupt the coding and corrupt your document.

Instead, follow these instructions:

  1. Return to your EndNote library.
  2. Locate the problem reference and double click to open it.
  3. Edit the reference as needed.
  4. Close and save the reference.
  5. In your Word document, click Update Citations and Bibliography. This will automatically insert your corrections into your document.

    Screenshot of EndNote CWYW, updating citations and bibliography in Word.

You can customise the format and look of your Bibliography or Reference List.

Change the font, add a heading for your Bibliography or Reference List, change the line spacing, or change the hanging indent for your references. This option is found by clicking on the arrow to the right of Bibliography on the middle panel of the Word ribbon - click on Layout tab.

Screenshot showing formatting bibliography option in Word using CWYW.

In numbered styles - the space between the Bibliography number and the Reference is determined by the tab settings in Word - adjust this to suit.

A bibliography can be divided into categories with groups of references listed beneath each category heading - e.g. Primary Sources and Secondary Sources.  This is done in the Word document.

Click on Categorize References and select Configure Categories.

Screenshot of EndNote CWYW, selecting categorising references.

  • Create your categories by clicking the Category Headings (+) button to display a blank text field below the Category Headings section
  • Enter a unique category name e.g. Journal Articles, Books, Primary Sources, Secondary Sources
  • Drag-and-drop specific references to the appropriate category under the Category Headings section.
  • Continue this process until all references are assigned a particular category.
  • Check the "Uncategorized References" section to ensure that all references have been assigned to a category.

Screenshot of EndNote CWYW, showing how to assign references to category headings.