Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EndNote

Guidance on using EndNote software at the University of Adelaide

If you work in more than one location you can use the Sync function in EndNote to make the contents of your EndNote library available on all of your computers.  You can sync your desktop and online library to allow access to your library across multiple devices (including iPads).

Take note:

  • You can only sync to one EN Online account.
  • For the first synchronization, a large EN library may take a long time.  Future synchronization will be much faster as it only syncs new references.
  • After synchronization any reference you delete will be deleted from both the desktop EN library and the EN Online library.
  • Group Sets will not synchronise to EN Online.

The following quick reference guides outline the steps for configuring EndNote Sync (for Windows and macOS).

When syncing is enabled, the default setting is that EndNote will check the library every 15 minutes to identify changes to send or receive; this can slow down EndNote performance.  To turn off automatic syncing select Edit from the EndNote menu > Preferences.  Select Sync from the Preferences menu and then uncheck the Sync Automatically box:

Screenshot: uncheck the EndNote Sync Automatically box

The two videos below demonstrate how to configure the Sync function and view the Sync status in your EndNote library.

EndNote 20 Configure Sync (1:10)

 

EndNote 20 Sync Status (0:37)