Open Educational Resources

OpenStax textbook designed for a two semester human anatomy and physiology course for life science and allied health majors. Includes surgical videos, histology and interactive diagrams, and career features. Supplementary instructor and student resources available. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license.

Textbook that uses the basic functioning or the human body as a common theme through which fundamental physics topics are introduced. May be helpful for physiotherapy and occupational therapy students. CC BY-NC-SA (Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike) license.

Textbook which focuses on breaking down medical terms into their word parts, pronouncing medical terms, and learning the meaning of medical terms within the context of a introductory anatomy and physiology course. Includes embedded videos and interactives. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license.

Textbook designed for novice learning who is seeking to develop a foundational understanding of the complete subjective health assessment in the context of health and illness. CC BY-SA (Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike) license.

Introductory epidemiology textbook for public or allied health students. It covers epidemiologic thinking, causality, incidence and prevalence, public health surveillance, study design, measures of association, random error and bias, confounding and effect modification, and screening. CC BY-NC (Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial) license.

Book composed of eight health case studies which include a patient narrative or story that models best practice in healthcare settings. Learning objectives are associated with each case with a focus on interprofessional interaction and collaboration rather than medical content. CC BY-SA (Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike) license.

Manual intended for use in a college-level human anatomy course. Activities designed to encourage students to engage with new vocabulary in many ways, including grouping key terms, matching terms to structures, recalling definitions, and written exercises. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license.

Textbook presenting the core concepts of microbiology with a focus on applications for careers in allied health. Content is arranges in a logical progression from fundamental to advanced concepts with the final chapters providing a survey of medical microbiology. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license.

1,547 photographic images with accompanying detailed labelled line drawings from the 24 volume Stereoscopic Atlas of Human Anatomy, competed in 1962. CC BY-NC-SA (Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike) license.

Series of videos from the St George's University of London that demonstrate core clinical skills common to a wide range of medical and health-based courses. CC BY-NC-ND (Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives) license.

Online module for Occupational Therapists from the University of Cape Town related to kinesiology. Covers types of movement, joints, muscles, balance and stability and includes a large number of practice exercises. CC BY-NC (Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial) license.

Published by the Association of American Medical Colleges, in partnership with the American Dental Education Association. Each publication is a stand-alone,complete teaching or learning module that has been implemented and evaluated with medical or dental trainees or practitioners. Learning objectives are clearly stated and appendixes contain reported resources for reuse. CC BY-NC (Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial) license.

Short online tutorial from the U.S. National Library of Medicine which introduces medical terminology. Public domain.

Complete, anatomically detailed, three-dimensional representations of a human male and female bodies from the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Includes cross-sectional cryosection, CT, and MRI images of one male cadaver and one female cadaver. Complete downloadable dataset is in the public domain as long as attribution provided.

20 courses developed for U.S. community colleges to enhance training in health IT. Includes courses related to medical terminology, public health, and evidence-based practice. Each course includes instructor manuals, learning objectives, syllabi, lectures, transcripts, slides, exercises, and assessments. CC BY-NC-SA (Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike) license.