Open Educational Resources

Anthology featuring 69 American authors and full texts of their work with introductions, images, biographies, and review questions. CC BY-SA (Creative Commons-ShareAlike) license.

This book provides an in-depth look at beginner grammar terms and concepts, providing clear examples with limited technical jargon. Includes practice exercises with answers. CC BY-SA (Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike) license.

Anthology featuring 50 British authors and full texts of their work with introductions, images, review questions and key terms. CC BY-SA (Creative Commons-ShareAlike) license.

Anthology featuring 37 British authors and full texts of their works with introductions, biographies, images, and review questions. CC BY-SA (Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike) license.

Book tells the story of how modern novelists, poets, and critics have responded to the Australian condition with the arrival of global perspective. CC BY-NC-ND (Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives) license.

Textbook that features poets that range in age, subject and style. It offers practical advice and strategies for developing a writing process and provides exercises that makes writing into a form of play. CC BY-NC-SA (Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike) license.

Textbook outlining the principles and techniques of storytelling. It introduces the central concepts of narrative theory that will help student to develop their competency in analysing and interpreting short stories and novels, as well as in writing them. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license.

Anthology that provide samples of literature from around the world and across the ages, ranging from some of oldest tales that have survived into modernity to works from the 1650s. CC BY-SA (Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike) license.

Book series containing peer-reviewed collections of essays composed by teachers for students. CC BY-NC-ND (Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives) license.

Collection of literary resources, including lectures, books and contextual essays, from the University of Oxford. CC BY-NC-SA (Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike) license.

Short booklet that introduces the form of comics to students. CC BY-NC-ND (Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives) license.

Podcast series from the University of Oxford Faculty of English Language and Literature. Only episodes with a (CC) symbol next to their title are available under a CC BY-NC-SA (Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike) license.

Extensive selection of books which are in the public domain in Australia.

Collection of teaching resources and scholarly publications to help support instructors who use writing in their courses across the curricula. Includes books, journals and guides. Various licenses.

Course from Lumen Learning with an emphasis on writing fiction and poetry. Includes videos, assignments, rubrics and samples. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license.

Courses in literature as taught at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Content varies but can include lecture notes, videos, assignments with solutions, student project examples etc. CC BY-NC-SA (Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike) license but courses may refer to copyright material.

Literature courses ranging from introductory to advanced level from the Open University. CC BY-NC-SA (Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike) license.

Courses from the Yale University Department of English: Introduction to the theory of literature; Milton; Modern poetry; and the American novel since 1945.CC BY-NC-SA (Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike) license.