Open Educational Resources

Textbook that introduces students to the fundamental concepts that underpin geography and interweaves these through the diverse range of chapter topics. Includes exercises, sample questions, and lecture slides. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license.

Textbook about how to read, use, and create maps. It explores how maps reflect the relationship between society and technology and how it can be used to address a variety of societal issues. CC BY-NC (Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial) license.

Textbook that approaches geography as experts understand the discipline, focusing on connections and an in-depth understanding of core themes. The short chapters are designed to be supplemented with problems, case studies and news articles. CC BY-NC-SA (Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike) license.

Textbook designed for students to experience and study as much of the world as possible within a limited amount of time. It gives students the fundamental concepts and the latest data regarding world places in a concise, easy-to-read format. CC BY-NC-SA (Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike) license.

Independent foundation that fights misconceptions and promotes a fact-based worldview. Site includes visualization tools and data. CC BY-NC (Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial) license.

Australia's public sector organisation for geology and geography. Site includes data, publications, videos, interactive maps, reports and more. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license.

Tool that enables historical maps from the New York Public Library's collection to be digitally aligned to match today's precise maps. Public domain.

Collection of data, visualisations and articles covering the world's largest problems from the University of Oxford. Topics covered include demographic change, health, food & agriculture, energy & environment, innovation & technological change, and poverty & economic development. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license.

Podcast series from the University of Oxford's Centre for the Environment which includes the School of Geography. Only episodes with a (CC) symbol next to their title are available under a CC BY-NC-SA (Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike) license.

CIA's World Factbook provides basic intelligence on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, terrorism, and transnational issues for 266 world entities. Public domain.

Courses in geography as taught at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Content varies but can include lecture notes, videos, assignments with solutions, student project examples etc. CC BY-NC-SA (Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike) license but courses may refer to copyright material.

Geography courses ranging from introductory to advanced level from the Open University. Courses cover a wide range of topics including: refugees, environmental issues, maps, and developing countries. CC BY-NC-SA (Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike) license.

Online self-directed course that covers physical factors like location, climate, and terrain, and human factors like traditions, ethnicity, language, religion, economics, and politics. Asides from final exams content created by Saylor Academy is CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) licensed. Various licenses for third party material.

Course from the Delft University of Technology that considers how ecosystems can contribute to quality of life and healthier more resilient urban environments. Content includes recorded lectures and readings. CC BY-NC-SA (Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike) license.

Courses from the Department of Geography at Penn State University. CC BY-NC-SA (Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike) license.