Open Educational Resources

Open Stax biology textbook designed to meet the requirements of a typical two semester biology course for science majors. Includes comprehensive coverage of foundational research and core biology concepts through an evolutionary lens. Various instructor and student resources available. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license.

Open Stax biology textbook designed to meet the requirement of a biology course for non-majors. Covers the major themes of biology in an easy to understand way. Various instructor and student resources available. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license.

Textbook covers the full range of conservation topics, including threats to biodiversity, environmental laws, and protected areas management. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license.

Textbook focusing on bacteria, archaea, and viruses and other acellular agents. CC BY-NC (Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial) license.

Open Stax microbiology textbook designed to meet the requirements for a single semester microbiology course for non-majors. The book presents the core concepts of microbiology with a focus on applications for careers in allied health. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license.

Book covers the entire monitoring process. Starting with a plan to incorporating stakeholder input, to data collection and management, and to analysis and reporting. CC BY-NC-SA (Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike) license.

Collaborative, digital, open infrastructure that pulls together Australian biodiversity data from multiple sources, making it accessible and reusable. Site has a CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license but individual content licenses vary.

Collection of images, videos, and animations of cells, capturing a wide diversity of organisms, cell types, and cellular processes. The purpose of the database is to advance research on cellular activity, with the ultimate goal of improving human health. Various licenses.

Series of 92 short videos from the University of Massachusetts filmed in the 1970s. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license.

Platform that gathers together biodiversity knowledge into one place. Includes images, media, datasets, articles and more about all life on earth including animals, plants, fungi, protists and bacteria. All content is open and freely accessible but licenses vary.

Virtual exhibition funded by the National Science Foundation which uses molecular illustration and animation to describe origins of life research and theories to broad audiences. All illustrations and animations available for download. CC BY-NC-ND (Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives) license.

Videos from researchers covering a large range of biology topics. Flipped learning courses and supplementary materials to support undergraduate and graduate teaching via an educator login. CC BY-NC-ND (Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives) license.

Short videos allowing researchers to share their findings more widely in an engaging way. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license.

Resources, including activities and socratic questions, covering a range of microbial topics. CC BY-NC-SA (Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike) license.

Collection of interdisciplinary case studies from the University of British Columbia. There is a focus on sustainability but a large number of topics are covered including conservation, education, forestry, land & food systems, and soil science. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license.

Collection of fun, interactive, research-based simulations of physical phenomena from the University of Colarado. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license.

Collection of interdisciplinary videos investigating biological systems using a physical sciences perspectives. Topics cover include algebra, calculus, probability and statistics, spatiality, and their biological applications. CC BY-SA (Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike) license.

Platform operated by QUBES (Quantitative Undergraduate Biology Education and Synthesis) that hosts teaching and reference materials, and cloud based software created by members and partners that support biological education. Licenses vary.

Course from Saylor Academy. Intended for students interested in understanding and appreciating common biological topics in the study of the smallest units within biology: molecules and cells. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license.

Courses in biology, including molecular biology, biochemisty, genetics,and cell biology, as taught at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Content varies but can include lecture notes, videos, assignments with solutions etc. CC BY-NC-SA (Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike) license but courses may refer to copyright material.

Biology courses ranging from introductory to advanced level from the Open University. Courses cover a wide range of topics including: genetics, studying animals, and microcopy. CC BY-NC-SA (Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike) license.