Open Educational Resources

Book discusses the practical issues of trial design and conduct and acts as a toolbox for field investigators. It has been extensively tested and undergone a comprehensive revision. CC BY-NC (Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial) license.

Introductory epidemiology textbook for public or allied health students. It covers epidemiologic thinking, causality, incidence and prevalence, public health surveillance, study design, measures of association, random error and bias, confounding and effect modification, and screening. CC BY-NC (Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial) license.

Collection of books published by InTechOpen related to public health. Topic covered include accident analysis and prevention, environmental factors, maternal and child health, and evaluation of health services. Chapters CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) licensed.

Textbook containing case studies related to a variety of topics in public health ethics, including: resource allocation and priority setting, disease prevention and control, chronic disease prevention and health promotion, environmental and occupational public health, and vulnerable and maginalised populations. CC BY-NC (Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial) license.

Collection of open access public health books published by Springer. Includes books on global public health, ethics, policy making, impact of technology, and social determinants of health. Various licenses.

Collection of resources to help users take action and train others in organising for community development. Topics covered include: assessing community needs, addressing social determinants of health, engaging stakeholders, action planning, building leadership, improving cultural competency, planning evaluation and sustaining efforts. CC BY-NC-SA (Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike) license.

Health data and publications from the World Health Organization. Most resources CC BY-NC-SA (Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike) license.

Series of 40 videos from the University of Copenhagen delivered by doctors, scientists and academics related to global public health topics. CC BY-NC-ND (Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives) license.

Published by the Association of American Medical Colleges, in partnership with the American Dental Education Association. Each publication is a stand-alone,complete teaching or learning module that has been implemented and evaluated with medical or dental trainees or practitioners. Learning objectives are clearly stated and appendixes contain reported resources for reuse. CC BY-NC (Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial) license.

Small collection of primary documents discussing epidemics from the past aimed to highlight similarities with past outbreaks and modern ones, including COVID-19. Includes introductions, glossaries, and questions. Primary documents public domain with all additional content licensed CC BY-SA (Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike) license.

Collection of over 6000 public health related articles published in PLOS journals. CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license.

Courses in public health as taught at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Content varies but can include lecture notes, videos, assignments with solutions, student project examples etc. CC BY-NC-SA (Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike) license but courses may refer to copyright material.

Public health courses ranging from introductory to advanced level from the Open University. Courses cover a range of topics including: population ageing, infection and immunity, healthcare improvements, and mental health promotion. CC BY-NC-SA (Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike) license.

Open Course Ware from the University of Michigan School of Public Health. Courses available include: Introduction to health informatics; Measuring health disparities; and Introduction to systematic reviews and meta-analyses. Available resources include syllabus, slide decks, and lecture videos. Various licenses.